Pastor Nick Hood

We can always ask God directly for what we want, but what I have found in my life is that God seems to speak to me more through my silence. sometimes I think we spend too much time talking, and not enough time listening for the voice of God.

Deuteronomy 4 :12   12 Then the Lord spoke to you out of the fire. You heard the sound of words but saw no form; there was only a voice[1]


[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version (Dt 4:11–12). (1989). Thomas Nelson Publishers.

I seem to get more direction from God when in my silence I’m doing something that does not require a lot of thought, such as walking in a park, exercise and in a gymnasium or in a swimming in a pool, driving the car up the mountain, working in the yard, praying for someone else, or simply laying down.

I often find inspiration when reading the Bible. Sometimes I read the Bible, just to be reading it. Other times I read the Bible for inspiration and direction, like when I am looking for a particular scripture on a certain subject, but other times, when I am seeking to memorize a text, or thinking about a word of hope or inspiration to share with someone else, in the process, often i feel as though the lord is talking to me.

Revelation 3: 2020 Listen! I am standing at the door, knocking; if you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in to you and eat with you, and you with me[1]


[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version (Re 3:20). (1989). Thomas Nelson Publishers.

If you want to hear what God is trying to tell you, it is also good to listen objectively to the voices of others. Some of the greatest inspiration I have gotten from God has come from total strangers who for one reason or another, said something to me, or looked a certain way, or acted and responded to something I said. Sometimes, it seems like God is talking directly to me. When I look at the enthusiasm and energy and excitement of young children, the glint in their eyes when exploring a  playscape in the park, a new toy on the floor, the hug at the door, the joy of throwing and catching a ball, or flipping on the floor, sometimes causes me to think about Venus of God and the beauty and majesty of God’s creation here on earth.

I encourage you to look for God in everything. Listen for God in everything, and see God in everything.

  1. When and where do you think you have heard the voice of God?
  2. Have you ever confused the voice of God with just another voice?
  3. Other thoughts you might have on the subject of listening two and four the voice of God?

Prayer

Lord I want to hear from you. I come to you this day as an empty vessel. Speak to me in my silence. Show me what you would have me to do, say, and understand. I have tried to figure things out on my own, but I have come to the realization that I need something greater than myself. Walk with me and talk with me as I progress the pathways of life. Talk with me now, and bless me with your divine inspiration. Through Jesus Christ i pray amen

Take a look at last Saturday’s broadcast on The word Network, – “The Hell Within You!”  which features a special tribute to Kevin Toney.