Pastor Nick Hood

1 Timothy 6: for we brought nothing into the world, so that we can take nothing out of it; but if we have food and clothing, we will be content with these. But those who want to be rich fall into temptation and are trapped by many senseless and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction. 10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil, and in their eagerness to be rich some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pains. [1]

Today I raise the question is it a sin for the Christian to want to be rich? One of the richest women I ever met, Mary Bell, the wife of Dr. Haley Bell, who together with her husband , daughters, and sons in law, founded the first black radio station in America with its own building, WCHB, in the Detroit, Michigan area,  and later, WJZZ, told me that her favorite Bible verse was first Timothy chapter 6 verse 10

I asked her,” Mrs. Bell, how can you say that the love of money is the root of all evil, when you yourself are so wealthy?” She replied, “Reverend, listen carefully to the Bible verse, the love of all money is the root of all evil.” She said the keyword and phrase in this verse is the love of money –  Not money is the root of all evil, but the love of money is the root of all evil.

I agree with Mrs. Bell, money is in and of itself not a sin. To be wealthy is not necessarily sinful.  The real challenge with money is when we love money so much that we put it above God. When you put money as the most important thing in your life, you will find it difficult not to sell your soul in its pursuit. Let me share a couple of other scriptures with you that help to put the pursuit of money in perspective.

Jesus  is telling us in his message within the Sermon on the Mount that we should not store up for ourselves treasures on earth that can be broken into and stolen, but rather treasures in heaven. Think for a moment about what treasures in heaven really represent? I interpret this scripture to mean that we should lay up for ourselves those things that will prepare us for heaven such as love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, gentleness, faithfulness, and self-control. (Galatians 5: 22 – 23.) You may think that I am naive, but i really believe that when a person lets the fruit of God’s spirit guide their life, they will never be without money. The challenge we often face is that we think then if you’re going to be a business – person, you have to be cold, rude and mean, always focused on the bottom line. Yes, the bottom line is important, but a person with a good spirit to match a good product will never be without money.

1 Timothy 6:  11 But as for you, man of God, shun all this; pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance, gentleness. 12 Fight the good fight of the faith; take hold of the eternal life, to which you were called and for which you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses.[1]


[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version (1 Ti 6:11–12). (1989). Thomas Nelson Publishers.

A couple of days ago, I went to a fancy, expensive, butcher shop. I was looking and wanted to purchase a couple of breast of chicken. The butcher behind the counter was rude to me. After talking with him for less than a minute and realizing he was insulting, I told him ‘never mind you can forget it,’ and i walked out without his chicken. In that situation I,  the customer  carried the power of the money in my pocket which I did not have to spend in that man’s store. I went across the street to another market which was less expensive, no hassle, and I purchased the chicken breasts.. The point I’m making the point I am making is that that salesman would have made more money had he just been polite. If you and I lay up for ourselves treasures in heaven, like love and kindness, we will never be without money.

I hope this meditation has been a blessing for you. Let me know what you think about it and if you like this message, I hope you will share it with someone else. Thanks for reading. Blessings. Nick

Prayer

Lord, make me unashamed to seek compensation for what I do. Make me loving and kind, gentle and gracious, even as i seek to live a good life. Speak to me. Inform me. Bless me with your inspiration as I seek to live a better life and to make this world a better place. In Jesus name I pray Amen


[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version (1 Ti 6:7–10). (1989). Thomas Nelson Publishers.