Help Me Help You to be a Fisher for Men and Women in Jesus Christ!

Right: Tyra Leslie, Lisa Biles, left: continuing deacon, Angela Leslie

I want to thank all of you who take the time to read this spiritual blog. It humbles me every day when I look at the numbers of persons who are reading this blog, and I see the flags from the nations that each of you represent.Each of us is in this Christian journey together. We may come from different countries, but the thing that binds us together is our faith in Jesus Christ.

My request to you is simple: Help me to help you be a “Fisher of men” (and women) for Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior. Likewise, I want you to help me become a better “Fisher of men.” I want to know more about your ministry. I want you to tell me about the ministry that you are engaged in. Is your church a “House church” or a big, stone cathedral? Are you an ordained minister, or are you simply a faithful believer in Jesus Christ, trying to share the good news of what the Lord is doing in your life, with all you might meet?

If you invite me, I will try to come to you! Share with me and I will share with you. Pray for me, and I will pray for you! We are in this Christian journey together, which transcends race, color, nationality and creed.

I am just beginning to experiment with making short videos to accompany the blogs that I write. I hope you will take a moment to check out my thoughts on the following portion of the fifth chapter of Luke:

Luke 5: For he and all who were with him were amazed at the catch of fish that they had taken; 10 and so also were James and John, sons of Zebedee, who were partners with Simon. Then Jesus said to Simon, “Do not be afraid; from now on you will be catching people.” 11 When they had brought their boats to shore, they left everything and followed him. [1]

In this scripture, Jesus has concluded preaching and teaching to the masses. He has not yet called the first disciples. After preaching and teaching from a boat owned by Simon Peter, Jesus tells Peter and the others to “Put out into the deep” for a great catch of fish. The men caught so many fish that their nets were about to break. Jesus told them, “Follow me and I will make you fishers of men…”

In like manner, you and I are called to witness to men and women about the matchless power of Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior. There is no more effective witness than you and I, because our personal stories have an authenticity, truth and power that common people can identify with.

I encourage you today to tell your story. Tell the whole story. Tell them about what you were like before the Lord caught you in his net of love. Tell them of your transformation and how your life has changed. Share the good news of what the Lord is doing in your life, and as you go, tell the world about Jesus, his grace, his mercy and his love. As you tell the world about Jesus, you will transform into a “Fisher of men and women”!

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are the most effective ways to introduce non-believers to Jesus Christ?
  2. Do you remember when you first learned about Jesus Christ?
  3. What caused you to believe in Jesus Christ?

 

Prayer: Lord, make me a better “Fisher for men and women.” Grant me the right words, a genuine attitude and spirit, that I might encourage others to give their lives to you. Lord, I thank you for your salvation. I thank you for your grace, but most of all, I thank you for your love. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Decir Gunn

Video by Donovan Grant

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry, Mission and Books by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Lk 5:9–11). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.