Prayer of Encouragement –

DSC_0018
River Congo – 2010

 

Recently, a young adult member of my congregation text me to say that they wanted to share an idea with me. When we finally connected by phone, it was clear to me that this young person had been thinking about the church and ways that the church might better serve our young adult population. From the very first words in our conversation, I prayed a little prayer that the Lord would grant me the ability to be an encourager, and not a discourager. It is so easy to discourage others. Once temptation is to respond with something like this: “We tried your idea already, and it did not work…”Or, “We can’t do what you want because we have never tried anything like this before.”

The more I listened to the young adult, the more I tried to put my mind and thought process into what they were saying. I kept praying a prayer of thanksgiving to the Lord that this young person was even willing to share ideas with me. The prayer I prayed kept coming back to something like this: “Lord, help me to get this right, because this might be my only opportunity to connect with this young person.”

We ended the phone call with an understanding that we would pursue the ideas discussed, and that I would facilitate, not dictate, the outcome. As I hung up from the phone call, I continued to pray, and am still praying that I might encourage others and not be one to discourage.

1 Thessalonians 5: 11 Therefore encourage one another and build up each other, as indeed you are doing. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are some of the challenges in encouraging others?
  2. When has another person encouraged you in a way that made a great benefit to your life?

 

Prayer: Lord, help me to be an encourager of others. As I seek to encourage others, grant me the right words, the right actions and the right attitude. Lord, free my spirit, that I might accept encouragement from those who care about me. Lord, grant me your hope. Lord, grant me your spirit. Lord, grant me your love. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additiaonal Photos Prayers and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (1 Th 5:11). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.