A Prayer for the Generations –


Before a recent trip to China, I put a photo on my phone of my dad and two sons. We took the picture at Christmas time. Both sons were in Detroit and I thought it an opportune time to capture the moment. As I look at this photo and think about all that it represents, I think about my father, who was preparing to die. I think about how when my mother died, my father shut down the home I grew up in on Fullerton Street, sold the home and moved to an apartment building downtown. My father grew up terrified of swimming, because in his home town of Terre Haute, Indiana, black kids could not use the swimming pools, but swam in the rock quarries where some of his friends drowned. But, as a widowed senior citizen, my father took it upon himself to go to the local recreation center and learned how to swim, because he wanted to take his grandsons to the pool in his apartment building.

Nathan and Noah were just little boys when my mother died. Nathan hardly remembers my mother and Noah only has photos of her. But they knew my father! My father helped us drive them to and from school. He watched them sometimes after school and had a ball taking them swimming in the beautiful pool at the Millender Center Apartments.

Last year, my father died. My sons are now grown men. As I gathered them together for the photo, I thought to myself, “this is probably it, the end is near.” I am so pleased that I took the photo, because it is a reminder that life goes on. A generation comes, a generation goes, and through it all, life goes on. I thank God for the persons who have laid the foundation for my life and I thank God that my life is not my own, but a life that will transcend my years on this earth.

Psalm 112: 1 Praise the Lord!

Happy are those who fear the Lord,

who greatly delight in his commandments.

2    Their descendants will be mighty in the land;

the generation of the upright will be blessed. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

 

  1. What are your thoughts regarding those who have preceded you and those who will follow you?
  2. What is your prayer for your children?

 

Prayer:

Lord, I pause to say thank you for those who have preceded me. I thank you for my children and my children’s children. Grant that I might live my life in such a manor that I might honor the generations that came before me and that I might be an inspiration to those who will follow me. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 112:1–2). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.