Jesus and the “Gig Economy” –

wp-image-1666870702

My sermon this Sunday is about the, “Gig Economy.” The “Gig Economy” is when a person works one or more contractual jobs as opposed to one, salaried position. For example, the person who teaches school or works in a factory by day, but drives for Uber when they are off work, is a participant in the “Gig Economy.”

One of the challenges of working in the “Gig Economy” is that essentially, you must, “Hustle.” Often, when a person has to “Hustle” for contracts, they must work the, “Gig” and look for other, “Gigs” at the same time. If we are not careful, the exercise of going from “Gig” to “Gig” can burn a person out.

Our faith in Jesus Christ will provide those in the “Gig Economy” several things:

  1. Direction
  2. Protection
  3. Inspiration
  4. And perhaps most of all, Perspective, to keep the multiple jobs and life in balance.

In John 14, Jesus makes a promise to give us all of these things and much more:

John 14: 15 “If you love me, you will keep my commandments. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, to be with you forever. 17 This is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, because he abides with you, and he will be in you. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How does your faith in Jesus Christ strengthen you in those moments when you have to “Hustle” to make ends meet?
  2. What are some of the most difficult challenges you have faced when you have had to “Hustle” for survival?

 

Prayer: Lord, in you I seek direction and protection. When the way is cloudy and the path is slippery, give guidance and keep me safe. In those days when my creativity and energy is dull, grant me inspiration. Lord, help me to keep everything in balance. Make me never so hungry that I put my faith and trust in you on the back burner of life. Bless me today to work for the best, to strive for the best and to hope for the best in your name. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written By Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jn 14:15–17). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.