The Glory of Queens is to Search Things Out-

Hon. Denise Page Hood, Laverne Johnson Young, Cheryl Steel in China

Curiosity is the theme of this message. One of the most exciting aspects of our humanity is our curiosity. As people made by God, we dance between our curiosity and fears of the unknown. Sometimes fear overwhelms our desire to understand what we do not know. Curiosity opens our eyes and ears to people, things and places that are outside our zone of comfort.

Before our recent church sponsored tour of China, several persons asked me if they thought this was an appropriate time to visit that country. 31 persons made the trip. One of the things that bound each person together was a desire to not only visit China, but to learn more about the country, its people, its history and its culture. In the end, we were unified in our curiosity to know more about China.

Curiosity is one of those things that makes the world move forward. In a desire to understand and know more about other people, places and cultures, we realize that we are more similar than different. God has called us to search things out, to learn as much as we can, to give as much as we can, to share as much as we can and to live as much as we can.

Proverbs 25: 2        It is the glory of God to conceal things, but the glory of kings is to search things out. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How does your faith in God help you with your curiosity about life?

 

Prayer: Lord, grant me a spirit of curiosity. Lord, grant me a willingness to explore this world and universe. Jesus, help me to understand the differences and similarities in people, places and cultures. Take me to places I have never been before. Free my mind and my body, that I might be unafraid to search things out. Bless me, keep me, release me so I might better serve thee. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas hood III

Additonal Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Pr 25:2). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.