A Glad Heart Makes a Cheerful Countenance-

DSC_9981
Richard Bennett in the Forbidden City, China

 

In the Book of Proverbs there are several verses about joy, cheerfulness and happiness. Walking through the “Forbidden City” in China, in the middle of taking photos of so many fascinating images, as I looked in the faces of many of the persons in our China 2017 Tour, sponsored by the church I pastor, the Plymouth United Church of Christ in Detroit, Michigan, it was clear to me that all the persons who made the trip were full of joy that they were in China. A smile can tell you much about how a person feels. By the same token, sorrow and sadness makes it difficult to smile.

DSC_9975
Kendra Cook in the Forbidden City, China

 

I try to find something to smile about every day. By the same token, when I am called upon to preach a eulogy at a funeral, I try to find at least one exemplary characteristic about the deceased. A funeral is often sad, but it also should be a time of great rejoicing, because the “Souls of the righteous are in the hands of God” (Wisdom 3:1)
There have been times when people have expressed to me their disappointment in love. It hurts to be rejected in love. When dating, and hopes begin to rise, if the other person crushes our spirit for any number of reasons, I share with the wounded person that they should thank God that the found out what the person was like before they committed to marriage. Even so, a wounded spirit takes time to heal.

In the 15th chapter of the Book of Proverbs it reads:

Proverbs 15: 13      A glad heart makes a cheerful countenance, but by sorrow of heart the spirit is broken. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What encouragement from scripture in the Bible would you share with a person who has a “Broken spirit?”

Prayer: Lord, I thank you for the joyful moments of life. Every day, I see encouragement in your Word, encouragement in your personal support of my dreams and aspirations, and your physical and emotional support that you provide for me. You make my heart glad, Lord. In your Word, I have found direction and sustenance. You are my joy. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Pr 15:13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.