What is Man that Thou Art Mindful of Him? –

 
Psalm 8: 3    When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers,

the moon and the stars that you have established;

4    what are human beings that you are mindful of them,

mortals that you care for them? [1]

 
Yesterday, was the last 24 hours of the China 2017 Tour. Denise and I went with five other persons on a day trip to a waterfront community. Along the way, our group stopped at a beautiful beach along the China Sea. It was such a beautiful, awe-inspiring sight that all I could do was to think about the creative love and mercy of God. The sky was beautiful, the sand was sandy, the water was warm, and with mountains behind and beside us, I thought to myself the words of the 8th Psalm:

Psalm 8

Divine Majesty and Human Dignity

To the leader: according to The Gittith. A Psalm of David.

1    O Lord, our Sovereign,

how majestic is your name in all the earth!

You have set your glory above the heavens.

2      Out of the mouths of babes and infants

you have founded a bulwark because of your foes,

to silence the enemy and the avenger.

3    When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers,

the moon and the stars that you have established;

4    what are human beings that you are mindful of them,

mortals that you care for them? [2]

Prayer: Lord, I see you in everything! I see you in the mountains. I see you in the valley. I see you in the sunshine. I see you in the heat of the day, but I also see you in the cool of the night. From the dry, desolate solitude of the desert to the fresh expanse of the ocean deep, from the little inch worm and bird, to the large animals of the land, and most of all when I think of human beings, what are we in the scheme of things, yet you have made us little lower than the angels! Lord, how excellent it your name! In Jesus name! Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo of Judge Denise Page Hood by Kristyn Brundidge

Additional prayers photos meditations and publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, prayers and publications of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

Note: We fly back to Detroit later today, tomorrow, for those of you in Eastern Standard Time. If you live in the Detroit area, I hope to see you in church on Sunday. My sermon is entitled, “The Clock on the Wall.” The theme of the sermon will be about time and a sense of urgency in terms of how we use the time the good Lord has given us. I hope to see you in church Sunday and I hope you will bring a friend!

 

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 8:3–4). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 8). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.