Jesus Sense of Urgency –

Dr. Gina Orton and Kristyn Brundidge in China

My sermon this Sunday is about living life with a sense of urgency. The sermon is entitled, “The Clock on the Wall.” Procrastination can start from several directions: laziness, forgetfulness, absent mindfulness, and hopefulness that the challenge or crises will just go away.

I have come to learn that those things that I put off rarely disappear. When I am ready to deal with the situation, it is right where I left off, or worse.

At my present stage and age of life, I am trying to do as much as I can right now, because I do not know if a year from now if my legs or heart will be able to carry me. Every time I walk from my car to a hospital room, or roll my bags from an airport parking lot, or roll my garbage dumpster to the curb, I think about my dead father and how over the last ten years of his life, his mobility, strength and ability to physically exert energy declined to his eventual death- and it frightens me, because I wonder if my end will be similar.

Yes, I go to the gym and exercise outside several times a week, but I am uncertain of how the end will be. That is why I am trying to do as much as I can, as often as I can, when and where I can, because I know one day I will go the way of the world. This is one of the reasons I am making this trip to China. I write you today from sunny Hong Kong. The trip is almost over and has been eye opening in several good ways. One of the reasons why I wanted to make this trip is because I wanted to see China and experience China while I could still walk, climb the Great Wall, see the giant panda bears up close and eat authentic Chinese food with not one egg foo young plate!

When I think of my present sense of urgency, I think about the preaching and teaching of Jesus Christ who insisted that people repent of their sins because the kingdom of heaven is at hand. I believe that part of the reason the Christian faith has grown so rapidly is because of this sense of urgency. I encourage you to think about your life and your sense of urgency. Are you approaching life with a sense of urgency or are you lazy in your faith, lazy in your hope and lazy in your love? How long will you live and what do you think your legacy will be? My encouragement to you is that you make the most of every day, every minute and every moment of life!

Mark 1: 14 Now after John was arrested, Jesus came to Galilee, proclaiming the good news of God, 15 and saying, “The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God has come near; repent, and believe in the good news.”[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How “Urgent” is your faith?
  2. What is it that prevents you from living your faith and life with a greater sense of urgency?
  3. Why do some people procrastinate more than others?

 

Prayer: Lord, grant me a sense of urgency! Teach me to be urgent in my faith, urgent in my hope and most of all, urgent in love! Help me to repent of my sins and believe more fully in your grace, mercy and salvation. In Jesus name, I pray. Amen.

 

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, message, missions, prayers and publications of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Mk 1:14–15). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.