“A Prayer for Justice and Endurance”

178

Psalm 72

Prayer for Guidance and Support for the King

Of Solomon.

1     Give the king your justice, O God,

and your righteousness to a king’s son.

2     May he judge your people with righteousness,

and your poor with justice. [1]

 

One of the most exciting aspects of each week happens each day for me: when I settle down long enough to see what countries people who read my spiritual blog live in. This year, my readers hail from several nations around the world, including the United Kingdom, Canada, Nigeria, India, Israel, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, Ghana, Liberia, South Africa, Russia, Kenya, Japan, China, Mexico, Norway, Australia, Singapore, Germany, United Arab Emirates, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Ireland, Trinidad and Tobago, Brazil, France, Uganda, Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Saudi Arabia, Bahamas, Botswana, Sweden, Turkey, Italy, Indonesia, Poland, Barbados, Slovakia,  European Union, and many other nations. For the past few days, I have had a steady group of multiple readers from the Philippines. I wonder if some of the people reading my work from the Philippines are associated with Silliman University, where I gave a series of lectures in its divinity school in 2012. The spiritual blog has great metrics which lets me know the countries, but I am not made aware of who the individuals are who are reading my thoughts and prayers and checking out my photos.

 

For those who read this spiritual blog outside the United States, I would appreciate it if you would either email me at nhoo996937@aol.com or reply below at the end of today’s blog. I am curious to know who you are and would love to keep in contact with you. Tell me why you read this blog. Share with me how you use this blog.

 

I make this request of you, because last week I received an email from one of my readers who lives in Phoenix, Arizona in the United States. The following is her email:

DEAR DR HOOD,

IM PILAR -PHOENIX AZ.  I FOUND YOU SEARCHING INTERNET FOR ENDURANCE PRAYERS.  WRITING TO THANK YOU FOR POSTING YOUR WONDERFUL PRAYER FOR ENDURANCE.  I REALLY THINK WE ALL NEED A LOT OF TEACHINGS AND PRAYERS ON ENDURANCE.  LOWER INCOME PEOPLE ARE STRUGGLING SO MUCH WITH FINANCES. COST OF LIVING KEEPS GOING UP BUT NO RAISES AND HOURS CUT.

ITS HARD TO FOCUS ON ANYTHING WHEN ONE IS SO OVERWHELMED WITH FINANCES.  RECENTLY THE HOLY SPIRIT SHOWED ME PSALM 72 AS LONG AS THE SUN AND MOON EXISTS, AND YOU BELIEVE IN GOD GOD WILL PROVIDE FOR THE POOR OR NEEDY. ….EVEN AFFLUENT PEOPLE ARE IN NEED TO EXPAND GODS KINGDOM. 

I “KNOW” WITH YOUR ENDURANCE PRAYER AND PSALM 72 I WILL TRIUMPH OVER THE FIGHT.  I GO TO CFTN.COM   A VERY SPIRIT FILLED CHURCH

IF YOURE EVER IN PHOENIX. BLESS YOU,

PILAR

 

Dear Pilar,

WrittenPlease know that I am praying for you and your church. Your letter has encouraged me to continue to write, work, pray and hope for endurance and justice, love and peace.

 

Prayer:

O God, I thank you today for your justice and mercy. I thank you that trouble does not and will not last always. With the rising of the sun, I see the reminder of your handiwork of equality and fairness. Lord, I ask that you might spread the wealth and spread the joy.  God, have mercy upon the poor!  God, help the poor to make more money.  God, help the poor to fight their battles, climb their mountains and swim the seas that separate them from the life that you have set before them. Take away our frustration and confusion. Grant us the endurance to press on, the strength to fight on, the love to love on. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Pastor and Senior Minister, Plymouth United Church of Christ

600 E. Warren Ave.

Detroit, Michigan 48201

www.puccdetroit.org

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

 

 

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 72). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.