“For the Battle is the Lords!” –

wp-image-595040055jpg.jpg
My son, Noah and me

 

This Sunday I am preaching about an aspect of the battle between David and Goliath. In their prelude to battle, Goliath and David engage in some major league “Trash talk.” Goliath shouts at David that he will kill him and leave his body for the birds of the air. David tells Goliath that he will kill him and many in the army of the Philistines and above all things, “The battle is the Lord’s.” Because the battle is the Lord’s, neither sword or spear can save.

1 Samuel 17; 47 and that all this assembly may know that the Lord does not save by sword and spear; for the battle is the Lord’s and he will give you into our hand.” [1]

If it already has not happened in your life, you will find a day when you have prepared yourself, prayed to the Lord, but at some point, when you have done the best that you can, the only thing remaining is to leave the rest to God. This is difficult, because we are raised thinking that only we can save ourselves, but at the end of the day, when there is nothing more we can do, all we can do is to turn things over to the Lord.

For example, when you work for a mean, difficult boss, who seems as though it is their life mission to mess with you and upset your day, when you arrive at work early and stay at work late, when you do your best to accomplish your tasks, and nothing seems good enough for your supervisor, the only thing remaining is to turn it over to the Lord!

The same is true in love. When you have done all that you can do, the only thing remaining is to turn it over to the Lord! If you are prepared to turn things over to the Lord, remember that David had trained all of his young life for war. David is prepared to fight Goliath. David runs to fight Goliath. Yet, David acknowledges that his victory is really God’s victory, because the battle is not his, but the Lord’s.

Questions for Reflection:

  1. When have you relied more upon yourself than upon the Lord?
  2. Has there ever been a time in your life when you felt that the Lord fought on your behalf? When?
  3. What is the most difficult aspect of realizing that “the battle is the Lords,” and not yours?

 

Prayer: Lord, prepare my hands, head and heart for the struggle that looms before me. Grant me your courage. Grant me your power. Grant me your love for life and a purpose that is greater than myself. When I have done the best that I can do and there is nothing more within my power, I turn it all over to you, Lord. Remind me that in spite of my strength and spirit, the battle is not mine, but yours, O Lord. Fight for me. Deliver for me. Heal me and strengthen me. In Jesus name. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Denise Page Hood

Additional Prayers, Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (1 Sa 17:47). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.