Do Not Judge and You Will Not be Judged!

wp-image-1766300596jpg.jpg

One of the most powerful moments in our worship service happens after the announcements and the welcome to the visitors when the young acolytes step up to the lectern to lead the worshipers in the following teaching of Jesus:

Luke 6: 37 “Do not judge, and you will not be judged; do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven; 38 give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap; for the measure you give will be the measure you get back.” [1]

The children lead the congregation in preparation for the Sunday offering by reminding us to refrain from judging and condemning others, a call to forgiveness and a reminder to share what we have with others and the promise that the Lord will return unto us what we have shared with others, particularly the poor, the tired, and those who suffer.

Questions for Reflection:

  1. Why are these words of Jesus so challenging?
  2. In what ways do these words of Jesus enhance your faith?

 

Prayer: Lord, teach me not to judge others. Grant me the compassion not to condemn, even when some might condemn me. Help me to forgive, even when my desire is to punish. Encourage me to give back in love, then in your divine providence, I pray that you might give unto me. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Lk 6:37–38). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.