The Boundary Lines Have Fallen for Me in Pleasant Places –

026

A sense of the boundaries helps to keep us on a level path. If you know how far you can go and what is appropriate and inappropriate, in theory, you should be ok. This is a line I share with engaged couples who want to talk about boundaries in love and marriage. Knowing the boundaries provides lovers with remarkable freedom and elasticity because unless one or the other has lied about their expectations, staying with the lines of the boundary becomes a starting point for what is acceptable, prudent and simply right. In Psalm 16, David writes about “Boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places…”

Psalm 16: 5  The Lord is my chosen portion and my cup; you hold my lot. 6  The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; I have a goodly heritage. [1]

Depending on where we are in our relationships, boundaries may change. Things we once did, experienced and shared can become taboo, off-limits and alarming. I encourage you to reflect for a moment on the boundaries you have established, the relationships that mean the most to you, and memories that fill you with joy, remorse, and longing for a simpler time, sweet love and understanding that we are here on earth for a reason and the good Lord has prepared a table before us, that we might eat, drink and taste from the bounty of a meal that can only satisfy.

Psalm 16: 7  I bless the Lord who gives me counsel; in the night also my heart instructs me. 8 I keep the Lord always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be moved. 9Therefore my heart is glad, and my soul rejoices; my body also rests secure. [2]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts regarding “Boundaries”?
  2. What does this scripture say to you regarding the expansion and contraction of boundaries?

 

Prayer: Help me to know my limitations, Lord. Guard my tongue, that I might not offend. Guard my thoughts, that I might use my brain for good and not evil. Guide my feet, that I might travel in peaceful ways. Speak to my heart, that I might feel your presence, know your presence and live your presence. In Jesus name. Amen

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry, Missions, Prayers and Publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministires.org

 

 

 

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 16:5–6). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 16:7–9). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.