Latasha Washington – Profile in Positive Determination


The other day, Tasha Washington rolled into my office and shared some good news. She told me that she planned to join me in my Annual Pastor’s Memorial Day Bike Ride. I did not want to ask her how she was going to ride with me, because Tasha is in a wheel chair. Tasha told me that some of the people at the Rehabilitation Institute of Michigan encouraged her to apply for a grant that would pay for a hand-cycle that rides like a bicycle. A couple of weeks later, Tasha came back to my office and said the grant was approved and the hand-cycle was on its way!

For those of you who do not know Tasha Washington, let me share a little bit about her. Tasha is a member of the church that I pastor. She was a valued member of my staff when I was a member of the Detroit City Council. Before she lost her ability to walk, Tasha was one of the most energetic persons I have ever known. She was fast, smart and positive. One day she felt a pain in her back, drove to the hospital, and learned that a mass was pressing on her spine and she would never be able to use her legs again. As she went through an extended period of therapy, I bought Tasha a set of light weights and encouraged her to work out on her own.

Since then, Tasha has performed the role of assistant secretary and event-planner for the church. Tasha is into everything, and in large measure has become as much the “face of the church” as myself. I am sharing some of her story, because I have never heard Tasha say a negative or bitter word, even as she defies all odds and keeps moving forward. I fully expect to see her participate in my Bike Ride next year.

Have you ever had a bad day? Has your life taken a negative turn that caused you to be bitter? I encourage you to think about Tasha Washington and ask yourself, “Why should I be discouraged, and why should I give up?”

2 Chronicles 15: But you, take courage! Do not let your hands be weak, for your work shall be rewarded.” [1]

Prayer: Lord, grant me a positive and powerful spirit! Help me not to curse life, but to embrace life. Teach me to love and not have, to live with courage and determination to be the most, make the most and live the most out of life. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (2 Ch 15:7). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.