Jesse Presents His Sons to Samuel –

wp-image-595040055jpg.jpg
My youngest son, Atty. Noah P. Hood  with me in the kitchen

 

As we walk towards Father’s Day, I am writing a series about major fathers in the Bible. Yesterday, I wrote about Samuel visiting Bethlehem to sanctify Jesse and his sons. Today, I write about what happened after the sanctification of Jesse and his sons. Jesse calls each of his sons to present to Samuel. Samuel prays to the Lord for direction in discerning who will be the next king of Israel. When Eliab, the first born is presented to Samuel, the prophet looks at the young man and says, “Surely the Lord’s anointed is now before the Lord.” (vs.6) The Lord talks to Samuel and informs his that Eliab is not the one. One by one, each of the seven oldest sons of Jesse pass before Samuel, but none is the chosen one. Finally, Samuel asks Jesse, the father, if there is another son. Seemingly almost with reluctance, Jesse, the father, tells Samuel that he has another son who is young and away, following the sheep. Samuel tells Jesse to call this son in order that he might meet him. When David finally appears, the Lord speaks to him and lets him know that this is the one!

Jesse, the father, is like many of our fathers. He seems proud of each of his sons and wants to show off his sons to Samuel. How many of our fathers have in one way or another demonstrated their pride in their children? For the last several weeks I have noticed several fathers who have posted photos of their sons and daughters as well as nieces and nephews on Facebook for any accomplishment at all – graduations, acceptance to college, winning scholarships, weddings, promotions, getting hired, and much more!

Good fathers and mothers show their admiration and pride in any number of ways. I remember like it was yesterday, my father sneaking up and down the aisle with a camera during my graduation from Cass Technical High School in Detroit. My dad was looking for me among the 800 plus graduates. When he found me, he started snapping photos. I was so embarrassed, but deep down inside, I was pleased because I knew my day was proud of me. Jesse was proud of each of his sons and unashamed to show it.

Tomorrow, I am going to write about a period later in the life of Jesse when David provided protection for his mother and father. If we live long enough, some of us will come under the protection and direction of our children. I hope to see you tomorrow! The scripture below is the selection process used by Samuel when he asked Jesse, the father, to present his sons, to discern who would be the next king of Israel.

 

1 Kings 16: When they came, he looked on Eliab and thought, “Surely the Lord’s anointed is now before the Lord.” c8 Then Jesse called Abinadab, and made him pass before Samuel. He said, “Neither has the Lord chosen this one.” Then Jesse made Shammah pass by. And he said, “Neither has the Lord chosen this one.” 10 Jesse made seven of his sons pass before Samuel, and Samuel said to Jesse, “The Lord has not chosen any of these.” 11 Samuel said to Jesse, “Are all your sons here?” And he said, “There remains yet the youngest, but he is keeping the sheep.” And Samuel said to Jesse, “Send and bring him; for we will not sit down until he comes here.” 12 He sent and brought him in. Now he was ruddy, and had beautiful eyes, and was handsome. The Lord said, “Rise and anoint him; for this is the one.” 13 Then Samuel took the horn of oil, and anointed him in the presence of his brothers; and the spirit of the Lord came mightily upon David from that day forward. Samuel then set out and went to Ramah. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What do you think about the way Jesse presented his sons to Samuel?
  2. What are your thoughts about the way God informed Samuel that David was the son to be anointed king?

Prayer: Lord, I seek the direction of your Holy Spirit. Speak and I will listen. Point, and I will follow. Bless, and I will receive. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Denise Page Hood

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, prayers and publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (1 Sa 16:6–13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.