The Sanctification of Jesse and His Sons –

DSC_8818
My son, Nathan and Me

 

As we inch towards Father’s Day, today I would like to look at another father in the Bible, Jesse. When Samuel the priest turned Judge, he gained the reputation of being not only spiritual, but mean. Arriving in Bethlehem, searching for a successor for King Saul, Samuel put fear in the hearts of all the people in Bethlehem. The one father and his sons that were invited by Samuel to a ritual meal was Jesse and his sons.

After meeting each of the sons, Samuel asked was there another son. Whispering in the ear of Samuel, the prophet asked if there was another son? Jesse downplayed the last son, David, because he was young and assigned to following the family sheep. As things turned out, David was the youngest son, who was out in the pasture, feeding, protecting, leading and guiding the sheep.

David was anointed king and after the death of Saul, David became king at thirty years of age. As I consider this story from the Old Testament, I think of the following lessons:

  1. David is not present because he was doing what he was supposed to be doing.
  2. It is significant that Jesse is including his sons in a religious ritual, sanctification.
  3. How many times growing up did your father take you to church, Sunday School, or other religious activities?
  4. Jesse does not back down from Samuel
  5. This Father’s Day, what will you do to honor your father?

 

1 Samuel 16: He said, “Peaceably; I have come to sacrifice to the Lord; sanctify yourselves and come with me to the sacrifice.” And he sanctified Jesse and his sons and invited them to the sacrifice. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. As we approach “Father’s Day,” what are your thoughts about Samuel sanctifying Jesse and his sons?
  2. What are some of the religious activities that you and your father did together?

 

Prayer: Lord, I thank you for my father. I thank you for those things that I have learned from my father. Bless me this day to strong in my faith, redemptive in love, and powerful in your Spirit. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Denise Page Hood

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, missions, prayers and publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (1 Sa 16:5). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.