Spiritual Gangster –

DSC_9867

Yesterday, I saw a fellow with a T-Shirt that read, “Spiritual Gangster.” The two words together seemed odd. Spiritual is positive. Gangster is negative. In my ignorance, I spent all day reflecting upon why he would wear a shirt like that and what the deeper meaning might be. Finally, a few minutes ago, I did an internet search on “Spiritual Gangster” and found that it is a movement that includes some persons who are into yoga and others who in their words:

“Spiritual Gangster is a movement designed to join ancient wisdom with modern culture. Inspired by yogis, athletes, artists, lovers and dreamers worldwide, our mission is simple:

May All Beings Everywhere Be Happy and Free

The mission statement is positive and I wish the “Spiritual Gangster” mission blessings and peace. They have a line of clothing that is sold in several retail outlets and online.

When I saw the guy in his shirt, I thought about the words of Jesus regarding “False prophets”:

Matthew 24: 11 And many false prophets will arise and lead many astray[1]

Even today, we have to be careful that those who preach and teach the Word of God, are not leading people astray. Jesus warned his disciples that “False prophets” would be a sign of the end and that they should be aware. You and I must also test every sermon, every Bible lesson, and every pronouncement that Christians make, because not everything that sounds true is true, not everything that promises good, is good, and not everything that is proclaimed good, is good.

Jesus taught that these false teachings should be expected:

“Then they will hand you over to be tortured and will put you to death, and you will be hated by all nations because of my name. 10 Then many will fall away, and they will betray one another and hate one another. 11 And many false prophets will arise and lead many astray. 12 And because of the increase of lawlessness, the love of many will grow cold. 13 But the one who endures to the end will be saved. 14 And this good news of the kingdom will be proclaimed throughout the world, as a testimony to all the nations; and then the end will come. [2] (Matthew 12)

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about what it means to be a “Spiritual Gangster”?
  2. What are some of the reasons why some people will follow “False prophets”?

Prayer: Lord, grant me the insight and wisdom to understand the difference between true and false prophets. Bless me with a spirituality that is so strong and so deep that I will not be swayed by sweet words that scratch the surface of truth, but are designed to take advantage of my resources, mind and body. Lord, I seek your wisdom. Lord, I seek your truth. Lord, I seek your salvation. Trough Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, prayers and publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Mt 24:11). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Mt 24:9–14). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.