Psalm 150: 4 Praise him with tambourine and dance; praise him with strings and pipe! [1]

img210

I found an old photograph from my days when I played a tambourine in a dance band. My main instrument was the trombone, but sometimes I also played the tambourine. I do not remember where the photo was taken, but from the look on my face, the night was getting long and we were deep into the music. Dwight Andrews is to my left. It did not matter to me what I was playing, I just wanted to play – case in point, now I play the harmonica. When you play in a musical ensemble, it does not matter what you play, if you play it well and to the glory of God! When all the instruments are played together and in tune, the music comes together in a way that is larger than any one person.

As I think about that old photo, I think about Psalm 150 where David says, “Let everything that breaths praise the Lord! From the little roach in the dirt to the gold on the faucet and everything in between, Let us praise the Lord!

Psalm 150

Praise for God’s Surpassing Greatness

1    Praise the Lord!

Praise God in his sanctuary;

praise him in his mighty firmament!

2    Praise him for his mighty deeds;

praise him according to his surpassing greatness!

3    Praise him with trumpet sound;

praise him with lute and harp!

4    Praise him with tambourine and dance;

praise him with strings and pipe!

5    Praise him with clanging cymbals;

praise him with loud clashing cymbals!

6    Let everything that breathes praise the Lord!

Praise the Lord! [2]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts regarding best practices in incorporating music in worship?

 

Prayer: Grant me a free spirit, Lord, that I might worship you in Spirit and in truth! God, you have been so good to me, I want to praise you with everything. Let me praise you with my hands and mouth, and my feet. Lord, I am prepared to go the distance for you! There is no barrier that can keep me from you. I am so pleased with the help you continue to provide to me. When I am low, your grace and mercy lift me up.   When I had no money, you showered my pockets. In my temptation, you have hovered over me, under me, beside me and beside me to protect me. Lord, I bless you. Lord, I magnify you. Lord, I worship you, because you are good and your blessings never cease. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com

More about the ministry, missions, prayers and publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 150:4). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 150). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.