Love Your Sister, Love Your Brother!

 
Almost every Saturday morning, my brother Steve, my wife Denise and I meet for breakfast. When Noah is in town, he often joins us for the morning meal. It is a time when we can let our hair down, catch up on the news of the week and bond as family. Last Saturday, Steve drove to the restaurant in his convertible mustang. After breakfast, Denise asked if she could drive his car. The two took a spin around Belle Isle and both were good for the day.

Steve was happy to let Denise get behind the wheel of his “Power Car.” Denise was thrilled to step on the gas. I was tickled to see the two of them so happy. I snapped a couple of pictures of the two of them in the mustang and thought to myself about the importance of love within the family. Denise is like a sister to Steve and Steve is like a brother to Denise. Thinking about the wisdom from the Book of Proverbs, chapter 15, it reads:

Proverbs 15: 17      Better is a dinner of vegetables where love is than a fatted ox and hatred with it. [1]

The love between family members can be one of the most powerful forms of love. This is the type of love that will change a flat tire in the rain, go to the ATM machine and with draw to the last dime, swim the ocean blue and carry a letter – all in the name of love! When was the last time you called your sister? When was the last time you called your brother?

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How would you rate the quality of loving relationships?
  2. How is the love of Jesus Christ similar and different to human love?

 

Prayer: Lord, bless me this day with people who love me. Surround me with relationships of substance, meaning and fulfilment. Teach me to care about the wellbeing of family and friends. Lord, show me how to rejoice in the success of others. Help me to celebrate the joy others are experiencing and to share in mutually in suffering. Lord, show me how to love my neighbor as I love myself. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, message, prayers, photos and publications of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Pr 15:17). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.