Honor Your Mother!

DSC_8672

Yesterday, Denise, Noah and I did a crazy thing. Immediately after conducting Mother’s Day worship services at the Plymouth United Church of Christ in Detroit, Michigan, Denise and I drove to Toledo, Ohio, picked up our youngest son, graciously allowed him to drive us to Columbus, Ohio, and we met Denise’s mother for dinner at a new restaurant. After a delightful meal, we got back in the car and drove home. Yes, it was a long day, but the ride was fun. We talked the whole ride to Columbus. On the way back, we went back and forth between listening to a science fiction audio book where some people were fighting and running away from a huge monster and conversation that was all over the board. It was a great time. We arrived back in Detroit at 12:30 AM.

DSC_8675The decision to drive to Columbus was last minute. Two days earlier, I made the case to Denise and Noah that Mrs. Page, her mother, was in her eighties and had fewer Mother’s Days in front of her than behind her. She did not want to come to Detroit this year because she has a sister who is recovering from surgery in Columbus. So, we brought “The mountain to Mahatma!” and drove to honor the oldest mother in our family. Yes, we also honored Denise, so, yesterday, we honored both mothers. We came home tired, but satisfied that we had done a good thing.

Exodus 20: 12 Honor your father and your mother, so that your days may be long in the land that the Lord your God is giving you. [1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How do you honor your mother?
  2. Do you honor your mother in differently than you honor your father? How?
  3. Why do you think God commands us to honor our father and mother?

 

Prayer: Lord, I thank you for reminding me to honor my father and mother. I thank you for the woman who gave birth to me. I thank you for her willingness to experience extraordinary pain, that I might have life. I thank you for the hopes my mother had for me. I thank you for her sacrifices. I thank you for the nurture, I thank you for the support, I thank you for the love my mother has provided me. Lord, grant that I might display honor and respect to my mother and all of the mothers of this world. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, message, prayers and publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ex 20:12). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.