A Prayer for Wisdom –

wp-image-1121516301jpg.jpg
Redick Grant and son, Joey

 

This Wednesday, tomorrow, I plan to preach a sermon about the desire of young King Solomon for wisdom. In a dream, Solomon asked God to bless him with wisdom, and for good measure. A short while earlier, David, the dying 70-year-old father of Solomon, had issued a “Hit list” with the names of two men he thought the new king should execute. Following the “Hit list”, David tells Solomon to be brave, be courageous and faithful (1 Kings 2).

After the death of King David, Solomon follows the direction of his dad and the kingdom is consolidated. God was pleased that Solomon did not seek to enrich himself, but rather had requested that God might grant him wisdom.

One of the lessons from this passage from the Bible is that if a person can obtain wisdom, money, success and power are not far behind! The opposite is also true. “A fool and his money are soon departed…” is an expression that bears truth. I am always fascinated at persons who came into money, only to lose their money because they did not use their money in a wise and disciplined way. A poor person with focus and discipline can turn a few dollars into big dollars if they draw upon the wisdom that God grants each of us.

My word to you this day is this: pray for wisdom. Base your life on the wisdom you have been granted. And, most of all, pray to God to use your blessings for good and not evil.

1 Kings 3: 10 It pleased the Lord that Solomon had asked this. 11 God said to him, “Because you have asked this, and have not asked for yourself long life or riches, or for the life of your enemies, but have asked for yourself understanding to discern what is right, 12 I now do according to your word. Indeed I give you a wise and discerning mind; no one like you has been before you and no one like you shall arise after you. 13 I give you also what you have not asked, both riches and honor all your life; no other king shall compare with you. 14 If you will walk in my ways, keeping my statutes and my commandments, as your father David walked, then I will lengthen your life.” [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. If God granted you one wish, what would you ask for?
  2. What are your thoughts about Solomon’s desire for wisdom?

 

Prayer: God, grant me wisdom. Grant me the ability to discern truth from false, right from wrong and that which is real from that which is fake. Bless me now, my Lord and my God, with an inner eye that can see into the heart. Teach me to test commitment and to live love, guided by truth and grace, mercy and peace, hope and faith. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry, Missions, Meditations, Prayers and Publications of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (1 Ki 3:10–14). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.