llA Wonderful Day Despite a Lost Cellphone and a Missed Train!

imagejpeg954.jpg
Denise, Me and baby Ellington, son of Hillary Sledge

 

 

This week, I found myself settling into a new groove with my text ministry. I try to write a blog post every day with a follow – up text message to over 500 members and friends. I texted from the train and the next day from the hotel. I have been in Chicago for a meeting of the McCormick Theological Seminary Board of Trustees. All week long I have been expounding on Isaiah 55, one verse at a time.

Yesterday, I think I lost my cell phone in the taxi ride from the school to the hotel. I’m sure it was misplaced, perhaps slipped out of my pocket, in the taxi. I realized it as soon as I settled in my room. I called the taxi driver, but he told me he had picked up other passengers. I spoke with him later and he said he had checked the cab, but did not see the phone. So, for those who find it meaningful to receive a Bible verse from my text message, it will not happen today, because I don’t have a phone to work with.

Why am I telling you this? Because, not only did I lose my phone, but today, missed my train back to Detroit, stuck in traffic in a cab that was late. Yes, it bothered me that the phone is misplaced, but the good news is that it is insured. I have never lost a phone before this. Yes, I missed the train, but over lunch with myself, I outlined a “Male Retreat” and now am writing this blog post. This morning and yesterday morning, I walked the streets of Chicago with my head phones and neck warmer, worn like a dew rag. My wife calls it my get up, but you know, no one messes me in the early morning light when I have on my get up! Smile.

This week I have been thinking a lot about Isaiah 55. The prophet reminds us that our ways are not God’s ways and neither are our thoughts God’s thoughts. As it became clear I was going to miss the train, I kept telling myself, “Make the most of this moment, don’t strangle the cab driver, be positive and move on.” I have so many tools to work with and occupy my mind and time, it is difficult for me to stay stuck in sadness, anger and bitterness. I told the cab driver he messed up my travel plans and caused me to miss my train, but I also blessed him and wished him a good day. Yes, I may not get home until midnight, but my home and bed will be warm. My life is anything but boring and I look forward to getting a new phone tomorrow, and my life will move on!

So, I keep telling myself to elevate my mind, thank God for the blessings in my life, and be positive. No, I do not fully understand God, because, like Isaiah, my thoughts are not God’s thoughts and my ways are not God’s ways, but every day, I strive to be more like Jesus- to rise above bitterness and disgust, to think positive, be strong, courageous and growing in faith.

Isaiah 55: 9   For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are some of the major differences in the way God thinks and how we think?
  2. How does Isaiah 55: 9 fit into your concept of God?

 

Prayer: Lord, elevate my mind. Grant me the ability to transport my mind above disappointment, disgust and anger. Lift my thoughts and help me to be positive in all situations. O God, your perspective is so much more expansive and progressive than the thoughts from my head. Show me, Lord, how to transform my negatives into positives, disappointment into new direction, wasted time into greater production. Through Jesus Christ our Lord I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, missions, prayers, photos and publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Is 55:9). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.