Eat What is Good and Delight Yourselves in Rich Food –

DSC_8643
Dr. Oronde  White, center, his wife, Atty. Rita White in red, Rev. Dr. Georgia Hill, Judge Denise Page Hood, mother in law to Dr. White in the gray top and Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

 

Over the last 15 months I have lost 40 pounds. I feel kind of like an idiot in how I lost the weight. Weight loss was not my goal. In a somewhat braggadocios manner, I mentioned during a sermon that I go to the gym early in the morning about five days a week. To level the exercise off, I told the worshipers that when I leave the gym, I drive to a McDonalds and get two to three Sausage McMuffins – two to three times a week!

Eric Ayers, my doctor, was in the audience, laughing and shaking his head. Dr. Cheryl Moore is the doctor I have asked to be my physician if anything happens to Eric. Cheryl pursed her lips and shook her head like I was a bad boy, scolded by the teacher and ordered to stand in the corner of the classroom. All I could think of was, “Nick, you have been a bad boy and Cheryl is going to spank you!” Dr. Monique Butler is the person I would like to be my physician if anything happens to Cheryl and Eric. Monique was also in the sanctuary when I professed my love affair for the McDonalds Sausage McMuffin. Monique has a unique way of showing her teeth in what looks like a smile, but if you look closer, sometimes the smile gives mask to horror or worse. All three doctors spoke to me after the sermon and told me to lighten up on the McDonalds Sausage McMuffins.

Reluctantly, I made the switch from leaving the gym and buying out the McDonalds to oatmeal. In the process, I have lost 40 pounds, and still going down on the weight. This is not a diet, it is a life change. I still go to the gym. The foods I eat throughout the rest of the day are the same I was eating before I gave up my beloved McDonald’s breakfast sandwich – a concentration on vegetables, fruit, grains and light on the meat.

My goal was not to lose weight, but to listen to the three doctors and make a life change. Last Sunday, Dr. Oronde White made a presentation to members of the church after worship about the importance of eating a balanced, healthy diet with a concentration on vegetables, fruit and grains. I do not remember the scientific explanation he gave, but much of what he talked about centered on not just vegetables and fruit, but vegetables and fruit that are not genetically modified. As he talked, I thought about the prophecy of Isaiah in the 55th chapter where the prophet talks about the abundant life God has promised each of us and the images of food you not only do not have to pay for, but, good food which is also “Rich.”

Thank you for reading this post, and I encourage you to take another look at what you are eating.

Isaiah 55: Listen carefully to me, and eat what is good, and delight yourselves in rich food. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. Why do you think Isaiah 55 begins with encouragement to “Eat what is good” and the poor can eat without paying?
  2. What does “Eat what is good” mean to you?

 

Prayer: Lord, I rejoice in your promise of abundant life. In your Word I have heard of what those who believe can look forward to in this life and the next. O, God, help me to make good choices in what I eat. Lord, I seek your nourishment. Lord, I need your renewal. Lord, I need your refreshment and fulfilment. Lord, I thirst for your blessing in this life and in glory. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo taken by Vickie White

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry, Missions, Prayers and Publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Is 55:2). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.