Seek the Lord While He May be Found!

DSC_1478
Equilla Wainwright read Acts Chapter 16 for our Travel Group prior to my mediation on the significance of Lydia and Paul

Att. Jerome Watson gave remarks during our Sunday worship service and told a story about growing up in rural Michigan. He shared that once as a youth in Sunday School, the teacher challenged the youth to learn Isaiah 55. Jerome and a little girl were the only two children to memorize the entire 13 verses of the chapter. He shared that the teacher seemed surprised that he could memorize Isaiah 55. After demonstrating his ability to memorize the chapter, Jerome was presented before the entire congregation and given $2.

I left church Sunday thinking about the experience Jerome had shared about memorizing Isaiah 55. Returning home, I looked up the passage and was reminded of the beautiful images of the chapter, particularly the abundance that is portrayed in God’s kingdom.

The prophecy of Isaiah is not just about the kingdom to come, but abundant life on earth. Too often we run and chase after things that are not substantial. What Isaiah is talking about is top quality life, not just after death, but right now, here on earth. My encouragement to you today is to seek this fountain that never will run dry, to eat manna from heaven in Jesus Christ that only can fill and take away hunger. Seek this truth and joy that we know in Jesus Christ. Seek his mercy, his grace and his love.

Isaiah 55      Ho, everyone who thirsts,

come to the waters;

and you that have no money,

come, buy and eat!

Come, buy wine and milk

without money and without price.

2    Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread,

and your labor for that which does not satisfy?

Listen carefully to me, and eat what is good,

and delight yourselves in rich food.

3    Incline your ear, and come to me;

listen, so that you may live.

I will make with you an everlasting covenant,

my steadfast, sure love for David.

4    See, I made him a witness to the peoples,

a leader and commander for the peoples.

5    See, you shall call nations that you do not know,

and nations that do not know you shall run to you,

because of the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel,

for he has glorified you.

6    Seek the Lord while he may be found,

call upon him while he is near; [1]

 

 

Isaiah 55: 6   Seek the Lord while he may be found, call upon him while he is near; [2]

Questions for Reflection:

  • What is the process for “Seeking the Lord”?

 

  1. What does Isaiah 55 say to you?

 

Prayer: Lord, I seek you. I seek your presence. I seek your power. I seek your peace. The world we live in can be tough and difficult to navigate, yet in you I have found something I can build my life. Lord, I call on you because I know you are near. Listen, when I call. Answer me with hope and assurance of your love. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers, Photos, and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Is 55:1–6). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Is 55:6). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.