Love One Another With Mutual Affection-


A couple of weeks ago, I wrote about putting on a white fur coat a friend was wearing. Well, it happened again. Last night near the end of the lawyers’ party in Detroit, called the “Barristers Ball,” Judge Craig Strong came over to our table, this time decked out in a shiny, gold blazer, with all the trimmings. I knew what was coming next. The Judge called out to me, “Nick, lets mess them up!” I knew what was coming. We exchanged my black tuxedo jacket for his shimmering, gold jacket and took a quick photo.

Judge Strong is a state court judge in Michigan. My wife, Denise, is a Federal Judge, also in Michigan. The three of us have known each other for 41 years. When Denise and I were newlyweds, we lived in the same apartment complex as Craig. We are often mistaken for each other and find it amusing. After changing jackets, Roxane Thomas, his special friend, joined the three of us for a photo. In the middle of the night, we laughed and had fun.

The apostle Paul writes about “out doing one another in showing honor and love with mutual affection. Paul has a wonderful way of expressing the goals of Christian living. It is a wonderful thing when people can have fun with each other, share a laugh without slipping into derogatory, demeaning behavior, and simply have an enjoyable time. I encourage you to strive for the love that Paul speaks: a love that celebrates our relationships and shows mutual affection and respect.

Romans 12: 10 love one another with mutual affection; outdo one another in showing honor.[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does “Mutual affection” mean to you?
  2. What does it mean to “Outdo one another in showing honor”?

 

Prayer: Lord, teach me to give and receive love freely. Lord, make me a better listener. Lord, show me a better way to choose my words. Help me to be a better friend. Show me a more complete way to honor others and to accept honor bestowed by others. Make me more loving and kind. Lord, make me a better friend. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Reddick Grant

Additional Prayers, Photos, Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, photos and meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ro 12:10). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.