“Busted” on California Route 1-

DSC_1105
“busted during lunch at the Half Moon Bay Ritz”

 

Yesterday, I wrote about my love for California Route 1. Today, I want to share a story about how I got “Busted” off Route 1. I wanted to show my wife and mother in law Route 1 near Half Moon Bay. After showing them several of my favorite views, I thought I was being big by taking them to where I often eat when I am by myself on this most beautiful of roads. Turning off Route 1, we traveled about a mile or so towards the ocean. At the end of the road is a Ritz Carrolton. I explained that I would often treat myself to a hamburger at the Ritz, because that was about all I could afford, and even that was stretching my budget.

015

Shortly after we were seated, I asked the waitress to take our photo.   She looked at me twice and said, “I have seen you before, you come here often, don’t you?” My wife and mother in law asked me what was going on? I had to remind them that I told them I would stop at this hotel to eat as a personal treat. However, when they heard the same from the waitress, they would never let me hear the end of it.

So, I like to say, I got “Busted” off Route 1, doing what I like to do in my spare time, take pictures! God’s good earth is so beautiful, it will cause you to take a second look, stop a while, and simply enjoy the majesty of the creation of earth and our place within the universe.

DSC_1107

Psalm 104: 1 Bless the Lord, O my soul.

O Lord my God, you are very great.

You are clothed with honor and majesty,

2      wrapped in light as with a garment.

You stretch out the heavens like a tent,

3      you set the beams of your chambers on the waters,

you make the clouds your chariot,

you ride on the wings of the wind,

4    you make the winds your messengers,

fire and flame your ministers. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are some of the most beautiful places you can think of in the world?
  2. What does the beauty of the world make you think about God?

 

Prayer: Lord, I marvel at the beauty of your creation! The oceans in their blue, the earth in its green and floral array all give testimony to your power and love. Lord, I pray that we, the present occupants of earth will make choices and decisions that will sustain life, and not destroy life. Bless us with your wisdom to build upon this wonderful world that you have established. Bless us with the courage to choose life, and not death. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry, Missions, Meditations, Prayers and Publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 104:1–4). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.