California Route 1 and the Majesty of God!

DSC_9867.JPG
View From California Route 1

 

The majesty of God is breathtaking and at every step we turn. I see the handiwork of God in every human face, in our smiles, frowns, thickness of our hair, or lack thereof, the way we walk, the way we talk, in our laugh, memories, in every sculpted definition of the torso and limbs, big and small lips, joy and pain. I also see the majesty of God in the landscape around us. From the dirt to the grass, the little and big bugs, the flowers and the trees, I see God

One of the most dramatic examples of the majesty of God is California Route 1. Route 1 extends 1550 miles from Los Angeles to the south, to Olympia Washington on the north. While I have not traveled Route 1 in Oregon or Washington, I have driven its breathtaking lanes between San Francisco and Monterey, California.

Much of the part of Route 1 that I have driven is a two-lane road with panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean to the west and sculpted, rolling hills to the east. It is also home to acres of fruit and vegetable farms that provide a major part of the food pantry for America and beyond. I encourage everyone who has not yet experienced Route 1 to drive a portion of its expanse. You owe it to yourself to witness this small portion of the majesty of God!

When I visit my son, daughter in law and grand-daughter in the Bay Area, I try to reserve at least one day to ride up and down Route 1, stopping to take pictures along the way. From Route 1, I can see the ocean. The rock formations are breathtaking. The road does not have many guard rails, so driving Route 1 makes me focus. When I look around the whole picture, I am filled with the sense that what I am experiencing has been around for millions of years and I am only a small participant in a sliver of the history of the earth that created such a masterpiece.

I find myself praying to the Lord, “Surely only a good God could have created this!”

Psalm 145: 10         All your works shall give thanks to you, O Lord,

and all your faithful shall bless you.

11  They shall speak of the glory of your kingdom,

and tell of your power,

12  to make known to all people your mighty deeds,

and the glorious splendor of your kingdom.

13  Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom,

and your dominion endures throughout all generations. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. Where and in what do you see the majesty of God?
  2. Do you see the majesty of God in human beings? In what ways?

 

Prayer: Lord, the earth proclaims your majesty from the jagged rock to the lowly valley. The moon, stars, the sun sing your praise. From the depth of the oceans blue, to the brilliance of the sky above, Lord you are majestic in all your ways! Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III: “California Route 1 Near Half Moon Bay”

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, photos and publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

AfAmericanPassover-COVERPrayer Book-Cover

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 145:10–13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.