Let it Go – Learn to Forgive!

wp-image-2004604672jpg.jpg

A woman was hacked to death by her husband because her husband suspected her of having an affair. The year was 1999. The place was a remote section of Cote D ‘Ivoire. A small delegation from my church and I were there to bring money and medicine to Liberian refugees of war who belonged to the Sarbo Tribe.   We learned about her murder the next morning. While murder for a love affair seemed extreme. The more I thought about it, I had to admit that similar things happen in America.

Sometimes when another person has hurt our feelings, abused our trust, and messed up our money, it is hard to walk away. I have heard well-intentioned people utter, “Let it go!” It is easy to say, let it go, when the shoe is on the other foot. Forgiveness is not easy.

When I think about the forgiveness of Jesus on the day that he was crucified, I pause in wonder. I wonder could I forgive people who drove nails into my hands and feet, stripped me of my clothes, mashed a crown of thorns through my head, stabbed me in the side, laughed at me, beat me, and spat upon me? What would I do? Jesus, our role model of excellence in faith, cried out loud enough for others to hear, “Father forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing?”

Could you, “Let it go” for the sake of salvation? Would you forgive for the sake of eternal life? What would you do?

Luke 23: [[34 Then Jesus said, “Father, forgive them; for they do not know what they are doing.”]] And they cast lots to divide his clothing.[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does it take to forgive someone?
  2. How is the forgiveness of God different than human forgiveness?
  3. What have you learned from the forgiveness of Jesus?

 

Prayer: Lord, help me to forgive. Help me to acknowledge my pain and suffering and those individuals who have hurt me. Show me the way to wholesome living that neither dwells on the past, or ignores the meanness of others. Lord, you have provided the example for how we must live and forgive. Teach me to let go of negative thoughts and feelings help me to live as you have taught. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Denise Page Hood

Additional Prayers Photos and Devotionals from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry, Missions, Photos and Publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at http://nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Lk 23:33–34). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.