Be Not Deceived: God is not Mocked!

Prayer Book-Cover

Sometimes we mock God. For most people, I do not think the mocking of God is intentional, but in subtle and not so subtle ways, we sometimes give God the “Finger.” However, the longer I live, the more I can testify that God is not one to mess with. The Apostle Paul wrote to the church at Galatia that God is not to be mocked because we reap what we sow. I have a life time of stories of people who knowingly or unknowingly mocked God. The one thing that is consistent with the people who mock God is how quick the tables can turn and we literally reap what we sow.

I know individuals who were self-centered, cruel and callous, acting like nothing mattered and they were above ramifications for their actions, only to find that eventually their world collapsed and they emotionally, spiritually and often physically chocked on their behavior.

When I think about the “Alternate facts” from the recent American campaign and the often impervious behavior of the new administration, I am not at all surprised at the failure of the republican party to replace the Affordable Health Care Act. Even with a virtual “Slam Dunk” of a majority in the House of Representatives, the Senate and a president, they could not repeal the good intentions of the Affordable Health Care Act that was passed and signed into law during the tenure of president Barak Obama. In addition to poor, arrogant and confused politics, what the president and his majority in Congress did not count on is that you cannot mess with God without suffering the consequences. You cannot give God the “Finger” by contorting the truth, mocking the poor, and pretending that you have not done anything. It is only a matter of time until it will come back upon you. That is what I believe happened today with the catastrophic, thoughtless, embarrassing failure of the republican party to dismantle the Affordable Health Care Act. God is not mocked!

Galatians 6: Do not be deceived; God is not mocked, for you reap whatever you sow[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How do people mock God?
  2. What are your thoughts about reaping what you sow?

 

Prayer: Lord, your path is my path. Your thoughts are what I want to think. Your hope is my hope. Your love is my love. Give me my portion, Lord. I give you back my life. I give you my heart, my mind and soul. Bless me now through your Spirit. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, prayers, photos and publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

Check local listings to view the African American Passover Celebration, written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III on the Word Network, Wednesday, April 12, 2017 at 8 PM EST

AfAmericanPassover-COVER

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ga 6:7). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.