You Are the Light of the World pt.2-


Jesus taught that, “You are the light of the world.” I am friends with a judge in Detroit who is one of the best dressed men I have ever known. His name is Judge Craig Strong. He showed up Saturday evening after a 70th birthday party for one of my members. He and I are often mistaken for each other. As he walked into the party, he caught my eye and said, “Ok Nick, let’s mess them up.” I knew what he meant. He meant, lets change clothes and let the people guess who is who. While I am just an ordinary guy who dresses somewhat ordinary and predictable, Craig is all over the place. Saturday night, he had on a black top hat, white fur coat and a Kelly-green sports jacket. So, I engaged in a little silliness and put on the white fur coat.


Judge Strong lets his “Light shine.” When he walks into a room, there is no doubt who he is. One might wonder where he has been, but there is no doubt he is in the house because he lets his light shine.

Matthew 5: 14 “You are the light of the world. A city built on a hill cannot be hid. 15 No one after lighting a lamp puts it under the bushel basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father in heaven. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What do you think Jesus meant when he said, “You are the light of the world?”
  2. What does Jesus mean when he compared our “Good works to glory given to God?”

 

Prayer: Shine, Lord through the darkness. Shine on me! From my best to my worst moment, shine on me. Shine on me in faith. Shine on me in hope. Shine on me and through me in you love! Let my works shine like a testimony. May your glory rain supreme. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photos by Sandra Ralls

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, photos, prayers and publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Mt 5:14–16). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.