Two are Better Than One-


Sunday, my wife had a meeting, so I took advantage of Lording over the kitchen, making a little assembly line as I show the seven children in my Confirmation Class, my little method for making quesadillas. Each child was given a task: one laid down the soft tortilla shells; another sprinkled mozzarella cheese on top of the tortilla shells; still another spread the salsa; one was generous in putting chicken in the mix; another spread out spinach on top of everything. Finally, the last task was to gently flip the loaded tortilla shell in half. After flipping the quesadillas, I showed them how I cut it up into pie shapes.

We had a ball in the kitchen. More important than creating a tasty meal, I tried to show the children the importance of teamwork and working together. After all, this is a major theme throughout the entire Bible.

Ecclesiastes 4: Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. 11 Again, if two lie together, they keep warm; but how can one keep warm alone? 12 And though one might prevail against another, two will withstand one. A threefold cord is not quickly broken. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are some of the reasons why “Two can be better than one?”
  2. Are there times when you would rather travel alone?

Prayer: Lord, grant me a partner. Grant me someone who will encourage me, work with me, and even chastise me. Humble me Lord, so I might learn from the wisdom of others. Motivate me so I might motivate others. Strengthen me, so I might strengthen someone else. Help me to work with others, energize others, and bless others, even as you have been a blessing to me. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers, Photos, Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, photos, prayers and publications from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ec 4:9–12). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.