0266 AM on the 2nd Day of Spring –

 

Song of Solomon 2: 14   O my dove, in the clefts of the rock,

in the covert of the cliff,

let me see your face,

let me hear your voice;

for your voice is sweet,

and your face is lovely.

15   Catch us the foxes,

the little foxes,

that ruin the vineyards—

for our vineyards are in blossom.”

16   My beloved is mine and I am his;

he pastures his flock among the lilies.

17   Until the day breathes

and the shadows flee,

turn, my beloved, be like a gazelle

or a young stag on the cleft mountains.[1]

 

It’s 6 in the morning and I am just coming in. My workout is over and I am bearing a Starbucks for my wife, trying to catch some cool points. As the door to the garage does its mechanical close and I make my way to the door, I hear something I have not heard all winter, it is the sound of birds in the trees. I have no idea what they are talking about, singing about, laughing or crying about, but they are really going at it and it just began to dawn upon me that I do not recall hearing the birds at this time of time throughout the winter. I perk up when I hear the birds. Sometimes in the warm months I whistle in tone and cadence with the birds. I wonder what they think about me? This is the second day of spring and with the sound of the birds, I know it will not be long until the flowers bloom. The tulips are already little green shoots that have pushed through the earth and are making their stretch in search of the sun.

 

Yesterday, I received a text message that made my day. One of my younger members, it does not take much to be younger than I am, sent me a text at 8:22 am which simply said, “Good morning, waiting on my 1st day of Spring inspirational message.” That text message got me going for the day. I felt bad all day long because yesterday was one of those days that would not end – three pipes burst, a little flood of water, meeting with Rev. Hill and the pastor of a big suburban church to talk about partnering in mission projects, locally and internationally, a trustee board meeting and dinner with Denise and two other members of the church. By the time, we returned home I was ready to hit the sack, and the inspirational message I wanted to write about the first day of Spring never happened. I feel like I let down my member who was hoping to read something spiritual from me.

 

So, here I am, a day late and a dollar short. As I think of the 2nd day of Spring, the passage from the Bible I looked at for the first day of Spring is still relevant:

 

Song of Solomon 2: 11           for now the winter is past,

the rain is over and gone.

12   The flowers appear on the earth;

the time of singing has come,

and the voice of the turtledove

is heard in our land.

13   The fig tree puts forth its figs,

and the vines are in blossom;

they give forth fragrance.

Arise, my love, my fair one,

and come away. [2]

 

This section from the Song of Solomon is a lover encouraging her beloved to rise and get away, to steal away from the routine of life and drink from their mutual fountain of tender affection. The blooming of the flowers in Spring represent not only the renewal of life, but also the budding of love.

 

Life is too short to miss one kiss, one embrace, one tender exchange. Sometimes we can get stuck on getting even, boxing one another out to gain advantage, and frankly, making some obscure point. Today’s Bible passages from the Song of Solomon are a reminder that Spring is here, the cold winter is past and now is the time to celebrate and build upon love.

 

I realize someone reading this may be thinking, Reverend, that is all good, but I am alone, lonely and do not have a love to wake up like the woman in the Song of Solomon. My encouragement to the lonely this Spring is this: Live life to the fullest, relax and get your rest, love life and love others, trust God, try God and watch your life bloom like the flowers of Spring.

 

Questions for Reflection:

 

  1. What are the parallels between the emergence of Spring and the renewal in your life?
  2. What is your process for a renewal of personal faith?

 

Prayer: Renew my faith Lord. Regenerate my spirit and restore my joy. Like the dew in the morning, fall fresh upon my soul. Refresh me and bless me. Touch me with the blessing of life. Breath upon me with your Spirit and refresh me with your love. Though Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

 

Read more about the books, prayers, missions and ministry of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at: www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (So 2:14–17). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (So 2:11–13). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.