Who Will Restore Your Power?

DSC_0074
School Boys in the Dem. Republic of Congo (2010)

Last week thousands of people lost their electric power in the Detroit area. We were fortunate in that our power was only off for four hours. It went out around 4:30 pm, but came on around 8 pm. I came home around 4 pm with the thought that I would change into my exercise clothes and go to the gym. As the lights went off, I realized that it might be a long while until the power would be restored. The temperature in Detroit was freezing and it might be a long night. I quickly, but systematically began to assemble all the things I thought we might need for a long, dark night, starting with my bigger than life flashlight. I arranged for a hotel room, went to the church and stayed there until around 8 pm, but was rescued by the phone call of my neighbor.

As I considered the darkness of the night, I thought about several mission trips I have participated in a variety of nations in Africa where the power was only on for limited periods during a day. From villages in Cote D’Ivorie that housed Liberian refugees of war, to the home of a sister of one of my church members in Sierra Leone who has a health clinic, to government hotels in the northern part of Ethiopia, to a church guest house up the River Congo, the River Gee area of Liberia, one thing was the same- at some point the power would fail, sometimes generators would kick on and we all made the best of a tough situation.

Jesus Christ is our Lord and Savior, but also the one who brings and restores power! Jesus Christ can make the weak, strong, the lost found and fill the ignorant with fresh understanding. Jesus Christ will not only restore your power, but turn on new lights of awareness, hope and love. I encourage you this day to reach for the renewable, sustainable, insatiable energy that Jesus Christ provides.

Even though it is Jesus Christ who endows each of us with power, too often in life when our strength is low, we find ourselves seeking to restore power, hope and joy by turning to people and things that are less than desirable, cheap and degrading. Some people try to build their confidence by surrounding themselves with women and men who really do not care for them, but only want to suck their money, shine reflectively on their shine, and seek fulfilment in material things.

I encourage you this day to seek a deeper peace and power by drawing nearer to Jesus Christ. If you let him into your life, he will change you, engage you, strengthen you, love you and save you.

2 Timothy 1:  for God did not give us a spirit of cowardice, but rather a spirit of power and of love and of self-discipline. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How is the power of God manifested in those who believe in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior?
  2. What is the power that comes from the “Laying on hands?

 

Prayer: Lord, I thank you for your power. I thank you for the unique ways you strengthen all who believe in you. Your power never fades. Your understanding is unsearchable. Your love is without end. In my weakness, you make me strong. In my loneliness, you give me joy. In my misdirection, and confusion, you give me guidance. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, photos and books written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (2 Ti 1:7). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.