Open Your Door for the Lord!


Here is a free one – a woman went to the pet store to buy a guard dog. The store owner offered her a combination deal which included a German shepherd dog and a talking bird. The lady told the store owner that she did not want the talking bird, but the store owner insisted that it the bird and the dog worked together. Reluctantly, the woman bought the talking bird and the dog. Not long after she returned home, a day came when she left home to go to work and a burglar broke into her home. As the thief systematically stripped her walls of the flat screen televisions and jewelry, making a pile of her personal belongings at the front door, the bird started talking, saying, “Jesus is watching!” At first, the talking bird startled the robber, but because nothing else happened, the criminal kept taking her things and making a pile at the front door. The bird kept saying, “Jesus is watching!” Finally, when the robber thought he had everything arranged to walk out the door, he heard the bird one more time squawk, “Jesus is watching!” Thinking the bird was crazy, the thief, slowly turned the handle on the front door. With a loud voice the bird shouted, “ O.K, Jesus, ,Sick’em !” and the dog pounced on the thief!

I know someone reading this is wondering, where in the world is Nick going with this? Here is where I am going with the silly story about a talking bird and the guard dog. In the Revelation of St. John in the message to the church at Laodicea, the Lord scolds Laodicea for being lukewarm. The warning to Laodicea concludes with Jesus standing at the door and knocking to gain entry. Jesus tells the church that he is standing and knocking, hoping that the church will receive and welcome him. Jesus tells them that if anyone on the inside hears his voice and opens the door to him, that he will come in and dine with the host.

You and I are like the church at Laodicea. Jesus is standing on the outside, knocking to get our attention. There are a lot of reasons why we cannot hear the Lord. Sometimes our attention is diverted. Other times, we know it is the Lord, but we do not want to take on the burden of doing what we know the Lord wants us to do. Sometimes we do not want to be involved because we are lazy. What the Lord wants is for you and me to hear not just the knock, but the voice of the Lord. Once we open the door to the Lord, Jesus comes into our lives and becomes one with us through the sharing of a meal. The meal is the common ground between Jesus and his flock. However, the meal cannot be shared until we listen for the Lord, open the door for the Lord and let the Lord come into our lives and our world.

Revelation 3: 20 Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.[1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about Jesus knocking at the door?
  2. If the Lord were standing and knocking on your door, would you be able to recognize it was Jesus?

 

Prayer: Lord, I hear your voice calling through the night. I am here Lord. I can feel your presence standing at the threshold at the door of my soul, and your knock is steady, emphatic and real. Come in Lord. Come in now. Sit down with me and share with me. What I have I give, I give unto you.   Come quickly, Lord. Come now and bless me with the blessing of eternal life. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

[1] The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2016). (Re 3:20). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.