Come Drink From this Fountain!

wp-image-1704879045jpg.jpg

Jesus once told a woman he had asked to fetch him some water that from him there is a spiritual water that never runs dry. Upon the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the “March on Washington,” Denise and I had just returned from our first trip to Europe. We had a young son we had left with her parents in Ohio. Several things I remember from that experience. When we touched down in New York, the baggage claim attendant was an old black man. He asked where we were headed and when we told him Washington, DC, he broke into a big smile and looked like he was ready to cry as he congratulated us on going to the march. When we arrived on the capital mall, there were so many people there we did not know where to begin, but the UAW Michigan was parading and soon we saw my mother and father. The third thing I remember was that I became really thirsty. A woman I had never met before and I doubt I will ever see again, offered me water from her cooler. I probably drank more than I should have, but I have often thought about the kindness of this total stranger.

The salvation of Jesus which offers release from our sins is like water that never will run dry. It is fresh, cool, revitalizing and renewing. I offer to you this day this water which never will run dry.

John 4: 14 but those who drink of the water that I will give them will never be thirsty. The water that I will give will become in them a spring of water gushing up to eternal life.”[1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. Why do you think Jesus tells the woman at the well to “Drink of the water that I will give…”?
  2. What are your thoughts about the thirst-quenching, refreshing power of Jesus?

 

Prayer: Lord, I seek the refreshment that only you can give. Like an empty pitcher, I stand before the renewal of the fountain of your everlasting mercy and grace. Fill me today and I shall never run dry! Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry, Mission, Photos and Books by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jn 4:14). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.