I Will Make Of You a Great Nation!

The innocence of a child brings such hope and possibility. God only knows what the future will hold for each infant. Who knows what each child will bring to the world? Will the child make the world better or worse? Will they bring peace or chaos, prosperity or poverty, joy or sorrow to the world in which they have been born?

A couple of Saturday’s ago we met the son of Hillary and Lateef. Hillary is a woman who once clerked for Denise. The parents drove from Los Angeles to San Diego to introduce us to their son who is only ten months- good looking, peaceful, and full of possibility. I looked at the child and thought about how each of us start in a similar way. This little boy has parents who love him and want only the best for him. Some children are not so fortunate, but even so, every child is full of possibility. As I looked at the little fellow, I thought about the promise of God to Abraham:

Genesis 12 Now the Lord said to Abram, “Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to the land that I will show you. I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you, and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and the one who curses you I will curse; and in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.”[1]

As this day unfold for you, I offer you a similar blessing. If you are willing to trust the promises of God, stepping bravely down roads you may never have traveled, hold on to your faith in the good Lord, and God will bless you as God blessed Abraham. God will make your name great and you will be a blessing to all whom you meet.

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What does the promise of God to Abraham tell you about your own future?
  2. Why do you think God chose Abraham for the great blessing he received?

 

Prayer: Lord, I thank you for the promise of a great future. Your Word is my hope. Your promise is my encouragement. Only you know what tomorrow will hold, but with you as my guide, each step that I take, each move that I make, I draw my strength and confidence from you. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Hillary Sledge

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the ministry, mission, and books by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ge 12:1–3). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.