The Temple of God in You

Dr. Gina Orton  (right), my wife Denise and me, outside Church in Punta Cana 

I love the house of the Lord. I love the music, prayers, candles, the sacraments and company of those who believe in the Lord. It does not matter if I am in Detroit, in the Dominican Republic of Dakar, Senegal, I get goosebumps when I am in the presence of the glory of the Lord.

One day in the middle of a “Married Couples Weekend of Romance in Punta Cana, handful of us broke away from the “Reservation” of an “All-Inclusive” resort and took a tour of a nearby town. The high point of the excursion was a tour of a local catholic church. It did not matter that we could not understand the language. It did not matter that we were surrounded by perhaps a thousand people we did not know. What bound us together was our love for the Lord.

While I was thrilled to be in the temple of the Lord, Paul taught that our “Body is a temple of the Holy Spirit.” Each of us has been blessed by God with a body, a mind and a spirit. Every one of us has been made by God, shaped by God and directed by God to live lives us meaning, purpose and value. I encourage you this day to grasp the glory that is within you, around you, above you and behind you. Let your glory shine and share the good news of the salvation of Jesus Christ with all whom you meet.

1 Corinthians 6: 19 Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, which you have from God, and that you are not your own? 20 For you were bought with a price; therefore glorify God in your body. [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about the “Temple of the Holy Spirit within you?”

 

Prayer: Lord, I love your habitation. Your Word is my light and my joy. The songs of Zion, the prayers of the faithful, candles of prayer, the blessings of the preacher and the shadow of the cross draw me closer to you. Bind me closer, Lord. By your stripes I am made whole. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. D. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry, Missions, Photos and Books written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (1 Co 6:19–20). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.