Out of Zion, the Perfection of Beauty, God Shines Forth!


Recently, several members of my church participated in a “Married Couples Weekend of Romance in Punta Cana. Seemingly on cue, each of the women had their nails painted in a wonderful array of colors. Their toes seemed to proclaim the majesty of the beauty of God. After the last session on marriage where the question was asked, “What do you want to receive from God?”, I asked all the females to arrange their feet in a beautiful circle. While the shine on the toes was external, it seemed to point to a deeper shine within the spirit of each of the women.

While the painted toes were beautiful, the perfection of beauty is found in God almighty.  God’s shine does not wear out. God’s shine will never grow dull. The shine of God is true and everlasting. As I think of those beauty toes, I think of Psalm 50 where David proclaims that through the perfection of beauty that is God, God shines forth:

Psalm 50: 2  Out of Zion, the perfection of beauty, God shines forth. [1]

 

God shines forth through our faith, our hope and our love. God shines when we try to live the way God has ordained that we might life. God shines through our dreams, hopes and aspirations. God shines through our disappointment when we strive to keep pushing, hoping and dreaming. I encourage you today to hold on in faith, no matter what your challenge might be and God will sustain you, bless you, and shine through you.

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about the “Beauty of Zion”?
  2. How does God “shine forth” through the beauty of human beings?
  3. What is the essence of beauty?

 

Prayer: Shine through me Lord! Let your light shine above me, around me, beside me and through me. Grant me faith. Grant me hope. Grant me love. Shine through me, Lord! Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

More about the Ministry, Mission, Books and Photographs of Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 50:2). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.