wp-image-1224031926jpg.jpgYour Abundance Should Supply Their Need!

 

A few weeks ago I heard an author and projecting about the future. He was being interviewed about his book on National Public Radio. I do not remember his name, neither do I remember the title of his book, but what I do recall was his dire prediction for the American economy. What he said was that the American economy was and is evolving into a information based economy where those with the ability to reason critically and at the same time use computers to help process information would thrive, but those who lack the ability to access the Internet would suffer and increasingly rely on public charity for their survival.

At the beginning of the interview I thought the author might be a tad alarmist, but the more he spoke, the more I thought about my personal discomfort at having to purchase airplane, bus and train tickets online. The same can be said for making hotel reservations. Essentially, the purchaser is on their own. If you make a mistake, often the purchase is non-refundable and it will cost an additional fee.

I wonder what happens to those who are not on any Internet grid? Who will care for them?

In Paul’s second letter to the church at Corinth, the apostle encourages them to provide support for the churches of Macedonia. Paul reminds the church of their abundance and the importance of them giving tangible assistance to those in need. He tells them that while they may prosper, there may come a time when they too might need assistance.

When we feel like we are sitting on top of the world, it is difficult to imagine that we might ever hit rock bottom and dwell in the gutter of life, but sometimes things go around. What I take from this part of Paul’s letter is that you and I should share what we have with those who are less fortunate, and in the process, God will bless us and keep us in God’s care.

2 Corinthians 8: 14 your abundance at the present time should supply their need, so that their abundance may supply your need, that there may be fairness. 15 As it is written, “Whoever gathered much had nothing left over, and whoever gathered little had no lack.” [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are your thoughts about Jesus words on abundance?
  2. What are your thoughts about Jesus words on sharing?

Prayer: Lord, I pray for prosperity, wealth and health, but I also pray that I might humble myself to learn to share. In my moment of distress, grant that there might be someone who would extend courtesy and favor upon me. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at http://nicholashoodiiiminisrtries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: English Standard Version. (2016). (2 Co 8:14–15). Wheaton: Standard Bible Society.