Increase Your Spiritual Bandwidth! –

DSC_0539 internet version
On the beach near Monterrey, California

 

Bandwidth provides the computer user with the capacity for the computer to process information. The faster the bandwidth, the faster a computer can download, upload and work multiple functions at the same time. Just as a computer is faster or slower because of the available bandwidth, in like manner, our spirituality depends or flatlines based upon the foundation of faith upon which we have built our lives. If you will, it is our “Spiritual Bandwidth” that enables us to learn more of God, trust Jesus and to rely upon the Holy Spirit.

So, one of the things the believer must do is always check and grow their “Spiritual Bandwidth.” The greater our faith, the greater our ability to handle the ups and downs of life. The greater our faith, the easier it is to trust God in all situations. The greater our faith, the greater our ability to “Walk by faith and not by sight.”

There are several steps a person can take to build their “Spiritual Bandwidth.”

  1. Acquaint oneself with the Gospel stories of Jesus Christ
  2. Try to see Jesus in every situation, everything and every person
  3. Pray often and regularly
  4. Attempt to love as Jesus has taught us to love.

When Jesus showed his scars to Thomas, who previously said he would not believe that Jesus had risen from the grave until he saw the nail prints in his hand, Jesus told him that those who believed and had not seen the scars would be blessed.

John 20: 29 Jesus said to him, “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have come to believe.” [1]

Look at the larger scripture that talks about Jesus, Thomas and the other disciples:

John 20: 26 A week later his disciples were again in the house, and Thomas was with them. Although the doors were shut, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you.” 27 Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here and see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it in my side. Do not doubt but believe.” 28 Thomas answered him, “My Lord and my God!” 29 Jesus said to him, “Have you believed because you have seen me? Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have come to believe.” [2]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What would you tell a person who wanted to increase their faith?
  2. What are some of the major stumbling blocks in building faith?

Thank you for reading this piece about, “Increasing Your Spiritual Bandwidth.” This also happens to be the title of my sermon, Sunday. If you are in the Detroit, Michigan area, I hope you will stop by the church at either 8:30 or 11 AM. – Plymouth United Church of Christ 600 E. Warren Ave. Detroit, Michigan 48201

Nick

Prayer: Lord, increase my faith! Help me to believe, even when I cannot make sense out of death, disappointment and despair. Lord, I need your presence. Lord, I need more faith. I cannot run this journey alone. Speak to me and I will listen. Hold my hand and I will follow. Breath upon me and my lungs will be filled with your power and your glory. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jn 20:29). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jn 20:26–29). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.