dsc_7495Many Waters Cannot Quench Love-

 

My wife and I are in Punta Cana for a few days with several other couples as part of an event sponsored by our church called, “Married Couples Weekend of Romance.” Last night, as we wrapped up our first session, I led a brief devotional based on the words of the Apostle Paul in the 4th chapter of Philippians where the Apostle tells the church at Philippi to think about those things that are true:

Philippians 4: Finally, beloved, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is pleasing, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence and if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Keep on doing the things that you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, and the God of peace will be with you. [1]

I asked each of the persons assembled to share something about their spouse that is true, honorable, just, pure, pleasing, commendable and excellent and worthy of praise. The personal testimonies were exceptional and quite touching. As I listened to the various stories of love, I began to think about the Song of Solomon and the back and forth testimonies of love between the bride and groom:

Song of Solomon 8: 7       Many waters cannot quench love, neither can floods drown it. If one offered for love all the wealth of one’s house, it would be utterly scorned. [2]

Pray for us and we will pray for you. Blessings and peace in love,

Nick

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What are the things that can make love sour?
  2. How does a person know when they have found love?
  3. What does it take for love to grow?

 

Prayer: Lord, grant me love. Help me to find, keep and grow love. Lord, grant me your patience. Lord, teach me to be kind. Lord, help me to rise above the temptation to always insist upon my way. Teach me to believe all things, bear all things and to endure all things. Lord, show me how to give and receive love. In Jesus name we pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at http:/nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Php 4:8–9). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (So 8:7). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.