Behold, My Sons in Whom I am Well Pleased

I am proud of my sons. It seems like yesterday they were little boys. Today, they are grown, educated, and moving on with their lives. Neither has asked me or their mother for a dime. They tell me they think I am a “Poor preacher.” Smile. I don’t challenge them with their assessment of me, but I am pleased with how they have matured. When I think of the pride I have in my own sons, I think about the words booming from heaven at the birth of Jesus. God shouts out for all who were lined up to be baptized by John the Baptist that Jesus was his son in whom he was well pleased.


When Jesus is baptized in the River Jordan by his cousin, John the Baptist, a voice is heard from heaven saying, “this is my son, the Beloved, with whom I am well pleased.” The voice from heaven represents the introduction of Jesus to the public as the son of God. This is significant because prior to the baptism, Jesus was only known as Jesus, the son of Mary and Joseph. The endorsement and identification of Jesus is the kick off for his ministry. After he is baptized, Jesus begins his ministry at a fast pace which ends on a cross for the salvation of the world.

The endorsement of God of Jesus as his beloved son represents several things. God introduces Jesus as his beloved son because:

  1. God is proud of Jesus because he is the son of God
  2. Like a human parent, God is pleased with his son, Jesus
  3. Like a parent, God is proud and pleased of the accomplishment of a son who was born through a human vessel, Mary.
  4. God is proud of the potential of what Jesus represents
  5. Jesus, like the child of human parents, reminds God of the shared DNA which means that when you see Jesus, you see God

 

Matthew 3: 17 And a voice from heaven said, “This is my Son, the Beloved, with whom I am well pleased.” [1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What is the significance of the baptism of Jesus?
  2. Why do you think God said he was “Well pleased”?

 

Prayer: God, I thank you for coming to earth in the form of Jesus. I thank you for your faith. I thank you for your love. I thank you for the hope you offer the world through your son, Jesus. Lord, you are perfect. Your grace is sufficient. Your mercy is without end. Your peace is everlasting. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Mt 3:17). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.