All Scripture is Inspired by God-

dsc_9956-internet-version

What is your favorite verse in the Bible? What is your least favorite verse and why? How do you attempt to understand words from the Bible that seem in conflict with other verses? I believe that every word in the Bible is inspired by God. I may not always understand some verses. It is easy for me to look at troubling verses in the Bible and try to understand them in the context of cultural relevance. For example, “slaves be obedient to your masters.” (Ephesians 6:5-9)

In another voice we hear the Apostle Paul proclaiming that there is neither slave nor free – 28 There is no longer Jew or Greek, there is no longer slave or free, there is no longer male and female; for all of you are one in Christ Jesus. 29 And if you belong to Christ, then you are Abraham’s offspring, heirs according to the promise. [1] (Galatians 3)

In his letter to Timothy, his young mentee in the faith, Paul exhorts him to embrace all scripture as “Inspired by God.” I interpret this to mean that Paul saw all scripture as the divine word of God. Second, Paul wants Timothy to use the full range of scripture. If Timothy is acquainted with the entire Bible, Timothy can use the entire Bible as a source of inspiration and truth. Paul does not want Timothy to become stuck on one part of the Bible at the expense of other verses.

Likewise, you and I should embrace the words of Paul and view the entire Bible as the inspired word of God. We should refrain from limiting our appreciation of the Bible to a handful of scriptures. Believers in God should take the time to wrestle with the word of God – even when we find that word confusing and difficult to understand. The Apostle Paul is an excellent guide as we attempt to incorporate the Bible into our daily lives. I thank you for reading this post, and I continue to ask the blessing of God upon every aspect of your life.

Nick

2 Timothy 3: 16 All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, 17 so that everyone who belongs to God may be proficient, equipped for every good work[2]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What to you are the consistent themes of the Bible?
  2. How do you attempt to understand scriptures that seem to be at odds with other scriptures?

 

Prayer: Lord, your word is my help and my strength. Lord, in your word I find light for my darkness, hope through my despair, and assurance of your pardon. Lord, you are my inspiration. Lord, you are my salvation. Your word is my hope. Your word is my guide. It is your word that continues to give meaning and purpose to life. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ga 3:28–29). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (2 Ti 3:16–17). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.