Inches and Minutes-

DSC_0821

Inches and minutes are often how I define my life. It seems I never have enough time to do all the things I want and need to do. The older I get, the more I like to think the smarter I use my time, but the reality is that I seem to cut things close. I move from schedule to schedule, and what I do not want to have happen is to miss anything. Sometimes the schedule is so close that I barely make it. It is in those moments that I take stock of the minutes that stand between me and where I want to be. I want to get to the hospital before a church member dies. I want to arrive a funeral before it starts. I count the minutes I have to arrive at a cemetery before the undertaker shows up. I don’t want to miss the baptism, sermon, prayer, counseling session or anything else. These are the minutes within which I live.

Inches represents another dimension of my world. In September, my car was stolen from the base of my driveway. Since then, I have started parking the car in the garage. I had to clean the garage to make space for the car. My car is a Ford Explorer. I never thought a Ford Explorer would be a “Hot” car to tempt thieves. So, I park the car in the garage. My problem or challenge with the garage is the “Inches.” I do not have a lot of room with which to maneuver. I can’t speed into the garage. I must watch the left, right and front end as I park the car. If I go too far, I mess up the front end. Too far to the left, and I don’t have enough room to exit the car. Too far to the right, I run the risk of swiping my wife’s car. So, these are the “Inches” within which I live.

Jesus taught that we should “Be perfect.”

Matthew 5: 48 Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect. [1]

Perfection is impossible, but it is the goal we should strive to attain. Sometimes our time is reduced to minutes and our space is whittled down to inches. Yet, through it all, you and I should strive to do it all.

I am not the only person who deals in minutes. The young parent only has a minute in time to raise their children. The “Minute” for the parent is a relatively short period of years when they have the undivided attention of their children. If the parent misses that, “Minute,” they may have to spend a lifetime trying to reconnect with the child. The single person who is dating has a figurative, “Minute” to figure out who is the right person to settle down with and commit to a life of love. Through it all, we have to make the most of the minutes and inches that God gives to each of us.

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What do you think Jesus meant when he said, “Be perfect…as your heavenly Father is perfect”?
  2. If human beings are by nature imperfect, how can we be perfect?
  3. What are your thoughts about how the Lord can help you to maximize the time you have on earth?

 

Prayer: Lord, help me to make the most of every minute. Lord, grant me a clear sense of priorities in life. Sharpen my focus, that I might always be aware of what is most important and those things that are not as important. Lord, grant me a sense of time and space. May my words and actions always be a testimony to your goodness, grace and mercy. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Mt 5:48). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.