Chocolate Cake and Doing unto Others as You would Have them Do Unto You


Last summer in my backyard during one of the Bible Discussions I led on the Letter to the Romans, when the session ended, Kendra Cook, asked me if I would make her a chocolate cake for her birthday. Without hesitation, I said yes. I think her birthday was in September or October. I missed her birthday, but recently spoke to her in church to see if it was too late for me to make up a cake for her. Kendra was gracious and kind and said she would be happy to receive the cake whenever I made it. Yesterday, I made a chocolate cake for Kendra. The recipe I like for making a chocolate cake has a lot of “Moving parts” – sour cream alternating with the flour; boiling water over chopped chocolate and cocoa; butter and eggs; topped with a cup and a half of chocolate chips. Then, on top of the cake is a chocolate ganache.

I do not make this cake often, but why not for Kendra!? Kendra is a nice young woman who has regularly attended Bible Studies I have led for years. She heads our Hospitality Circle at the Church and participates in virtually every major activity at the church. To be honest, I would have attempted to dodsc_1546 the same for anyone else who asked. Why? I believe in the “Golden Rule” that Jesus taught:

 

Luke 6: 31 Do to others as you would have them do to you. [1]

I believe this is the expectation of God. I also believe that there are real personal benefits when we extend ourselves on behalf of others. Something happens inside of us that sparks a special chord of humanity when we give to others. If we read the preceding verses that Jesus said before saying the “Golden Rule,” it gives a fuller picture to what the Lord expects with the culmination being, “Do to others as you would have them do to you.”

-Luke 6: 27 “But I say to you that listen, Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, 28 bless those who curse you, pray for those who abuse you. 29 If anyone strikes you on the cheek, offer the other also; and from anyone who takes away your coat do not withhold even your shirt. 30 Give to everyone who begs from you; and if anyone takes away your goods, do not ask for them again. 31 Do to others as you would have them do to you. [2]

So, I leave you with this word of encouragement. The next time you have an opportunity to engage in an act of selfless love and kindness towards someone else, try it and see what happens to you. I bet that you will find fulfilment and joy in just knowing that you have done something worthwhile for another person. Thank you for reading this post.

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What is most difficult about applying the “Golden Rule” in your life?
  2. Why do you think Jesus placed the “Golden Rule” in Luke 6 after the preceding verses such as turning the other cheek and going an extra mile? (vs.27-30)

 

Prayer: Lord, grant me the strength and courage to love others as I would like to be loved. Make me sensitive to the needs of others. Teach me to be thoughtful and kind. Grant that others would extend similar love and kindness to me, but even when they do not, show me the value of loving without thought of return. Bless me now in your name, that I might be a blessing to all whom I meet. Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Lk 6:31). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.

[2] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Lk 6:27–31). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.