Your Plans Will Succeed!

dsc_7396

Last night, Sunday night, my wife and I stopped by a gathering of the Sunday School teachers for our church. They were meeting at the home of Victoria and Malcom Barnes. Victoria is a Co-Superintendent of the Sunday School with Joyce Penn. Malcom is the Moderator of our congregation. They are truly a “Power Couple,” in church leadership. Officially, the gathering was billed as a Post-Christmas Holiday Party, but, “wherever two or three are gathered in Jesus name, he is there also” (Matthew 18:20). We arrived late because we started at the combined choirs party at the home of Lana and Bob Koenig, then went to the Charles Wright Museum to once again hear the Shades of Yale perform. “Shades” sang at our church earlier in the day during worship. So, at the end of a long Sunday afternoon, we ended up at the Sunday School Holiday Party.

Most of the teachers were still there. I called ahead and requested that they remain so we could take a photo. Officially, this was not a planning meeting for the Sunday School, but I am sure there was some conversation about plans for the New Year. As I think about the Sunday School and its teachers, it reminds me of the critical role they perform on behalf of the Lord.

Sunday School is one of the most significant reinforcements of the faith and spirituality for children. A child first learns about God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit at home, but Sunday School takes the faith of a child to another level. There were songs I learned at Sunday School that were almost never sung during our regular worship services. I made friends and relationships in Sunday School that have lasted a lifetime.

So, as I surveyed the landscape in the dining room of the Barnes, I thought about the words of the wisdom writer in the 16th chapter of the Book of Proverbs, reminding the reader as to the importance of making a commitment to the Lord and the assurance that our plans will be established:

Proverbs 16: 3        Commit your work to the Lord, and your plans will be established. [1]

Why is the true? First, by making a commitment to the Lord, our focus, values and principals are in line with the way of God. Second, by committing our work to the Lord, Jesus will inspire, direct and guide the plan. What I have found is that by including the Lord in my plans, I always end up thinking about something I had not considered at first. I believe this is so, because while we may have our plans, God also has a plan for our lives! Typically, our vision is much more narrow and small than the vision and scope of Jesus. There are a lot of people who make a lot of plans that never materialize. Sometimes it is because they are fearful. In some cases the plan fails because of laziness. Sometimes the plan fails because it is undercapitalized and simply requires an infusion of cash, more money! What I have found is that Jesus will free your mind so you can figure out how to raise the cash you need. Jesus shows us a different direction to make the plan a reality. Jesus will show you how to navigate the road blocks that prevent your success. That is why we should commit our plans to the Lord, and what we will find is that the plan will be established. So, as we left the Sunday School Post-Christmas Holiday Party, I was filled with thoughts about how the blessing of Jesus Christ enables us to see our plans come to fruition. Thank you for reading this piece on planning and the establishment of our plans.

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. What is the connection between committing your work to the Lord and the success of your plans?
  2. What does it mean to “Commit your work to the Lord”?

 

Prayer: Lord, I commit myself to you! Clear my mind that I might see what you have planned for me. Clear my heart so I might feel your desire for my life. Clear my love, that my love might be your love. Establish your plan for my life. Order my steps that I might follow your desire. Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Hon. Denise Page Hood

Additional Prayers Photo and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Pr 16:3). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.