wp-image-1224031926jpg.jpgIn the Lord I Take Refuge-

 

In whom do you take refuge? In whom do you place your trust? Where do you find peace? My peace is in the Lord. There have been times in my life when pressure has been intense, yet in God I have found a solace, a retreat where I have allowed myself to almost become oblivious to the winds that have swirled around me. It is in this place of refuge that I have found and continue to find peace.

Long before my mother was diagnosed with cancer, she had an expression of speech that was not the most dignified, but it cut to the core. If she came across a person who stirred up trouble, saying and doing things that were negative, she sometimes would say, “I don’t need any “N”….mess.” After she came down with cancer, she was even more intent on not letting the negativity and confusion of others to make her more sick than she already was. The result of her desire to remove negativity from her life I believe allowed her to live five years past her medical sentence of 6 months to live. During that five year period, my mother and father traveled all across America saying goodbye to their friends and letting them know how much they loved them.

It is one thing to physically remove oneself from negative, destructive people, but it is quite another thing to seek the Lord, make Him first in your life, and receive that peace which passes all understanding. Let me share with you how I “Take refuge in the Lord.”

  1. I read the people regularly and often.
  2. I pray often
  3. I try to live a life consistent with my faith in Jesus Christ
  4. I try not to allow danger, negativity and hatred to consume my life with fear.

The result of the routine I have outlined above is a deep sense of peace and calm in my life. My peace is not a peace as the world gives. My peace is not based on material things. My peace is not in any status or acclaim that might come my way. Rather, my peace comes from God who made heaven and earth and promises life everlasting in that kingdom which has no end.

 

Psalm 11

Song of Trust in God

To the leader. Of David.

1    In the Lord I take refuge; how can you say to me,

“Flee like a bird to the mountains;[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. Why do you think David says “In the Lord I take refuge…”?
  2. What does the concept of “Refuge” mean to you?
  3. How does the Lord provide us with “Refuge”?

 

Prayer: Lord, I take refuge in you. The world has its pressures. Life can be stressful. People can fool me, fake me, and defraud me, but in you, I take refuge. To me, you are a safety net. Like a high-wire artist walking across buildings, you are the net below in which provides me with security. I walk across the canyon of fear, but you fly below me with wings like an eagle, waiting to scoop me up and carry me to a safe place with your pinions. Lord, in you I take refuge. In you I find hope. In you I find security, peace and love without end. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Ps 11). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.