Texts, Tweets and the Touch of God-

dsc_7343

This Christmas season, a handful of young men and women who are alumni of the youth ministry of my church gathered for a get together at a local restaurant, Savanah Blue. All but one of the young adults had sat for ten weeks as part of my Confirmation of Faith Class. My wife and I attended the gathering, because we wanted to reconnect with people we helped to shape in their faith when they were twelve years of age.

During dinner, I asked each young adult what they remembered and liked most about the youth ministry of our church. They are all in their twenties. Most have graduated from college and are working as young professionals. My brother Steve had served as their high school youth advisor. James Hall, the middle school youth ministry leader was also present. Their heads should have been full, because the young people all made laudatory comments about how much they learned through the youth ministry.

dsc_7350

I pulled out my camera to test the light for a group photo. The photo at the top of this blog post was one of my first light tests using the flash that sits on top of the camera. After all of these years, I am still learning the nuances of flash photography. I thought it was so symbolic of our time in that several of the young adults were fixated on their cell phones. I do not know if they were texting, tweeting, checking Facebook or some other social media, but they seemed so much in tune with modern forms of communication. As I looked at them looking at their cell phones, I began to think about the words in the Letter of James and what the author says about Spirit-filled, Spirit-led communication. As I consider the words of James about how to communicate, it is clear to me that it does not matter if we are preaching, teaching, texting, tweeting, emailing or on Facebook, we still need to focus on the tone and tenor that spring from the words of our mouth and the thumbs of our text messages, that they might be in the form, fashion and spirit of Jesus Christ.

James 1: 19 You must understand this, my beloved: let everyone be quick to listen, slow to speak, slow to anger;[1]

 

Questions for Reflection:

  1. How does the Lord speak to you?
  2. How do you speak to God?
  3. What are your thoughts about James 1: 19 regarding communication?

 

Prayer: Guard my mouth, Lord. Open my ears, that I might hear your direction. Refresh my mind, that I might better understand. Calm my spirit that I might be slow to anger, quick to forgive, and easy in love. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jas 1:19). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.