Stay In Your Lane!

wp-image-1224031926jpg.jpg

 

Delano Dove came over to my house last week to do some household repairs. We had a list of things for him to do that Denise and I had talked about. Delano is a friend and a church member. I followed him around, trying to learn something about fixing up a house. We talked about a lot of things. I told him how glad I was that he was there to do the repairs because my wife wanted things ready for Christmas. I think it came up when we started talking about our wives and how important it is for a man to give his wife space to live her life the way she chooses and to allow her to do what she wants to do. Delano then said it: “You have to know when to stay in your lane.” We both laughed and agreed that it is important to give a woman space and not to “Crowd” her with your issues.

“Stay in Your Lane”! As Delano and I talked about “Staying in your Lane,” I began to think about places in the bible where God says something about “Staying in your lane.” One of those places happens in the Book of Joshua in the first chapter. Moses is dead. Joshua, the younger assistant to Moses is named the new leader. God makes a promise to Joshua. The promise is straight forward – God promises to support Joshua in the same way that God supported Moses. The only thing that God requires of Joshua is that he continue in the path that Moses followed. God tells Joshua that if he is consistent and does not veer to the left or right, in other words, “Stay in the lane that Moses followed,” God would bless Joshua and the people of Israel.

Back to Delano. He and I could not stop laughing about the importance of “Staying in your lane.” I told him, this is going to be the title of my sermon for this Sunday. We laughed even harder.

Joshua 1: Only be strong and very courageous, being careful to act in accordance with all the law that my servant Moses commanded you; do not turn from it to the right hand or to the left, so that you may be successful wherever you go.[1]

Questions for Reflection:

  1. After the death of Moses, what message is God telling Joshua?
  2. What does it mean to “Stay in Your Lane”?
  3. Does “Stay in Your Lane” mean never to try something new?

 

Prayer: Lord, help me to become comfortable with myself. Teach me to understand my skill sets, my hopes desires and my comfort zone. Lord, I commit this day to follow your law, trust your providence and love my neighbor as I love myself. Through Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior I pray. Amen.

 

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III at https://nicholashoodiiiministries.wordpress.com/

www.nicholashoodiiiministries.org

 

[1] The Holy Bible: New Revised Standard Version. (1989). (Jos 1:7). Nashville: Thomas Nelson Publishers.